Updated News From Ban Dannavieng Elementary School in Laos

This is updated news for Friends of National Library of Laos (Friends of NLL, also known as my co-workers for your generous support in the purchasing of my spring rolls) in regard to the construction progress of Ban Dannavieng Elementary School; other supporters of this project include the local villagers, Laocook, Nye Noona, and Darly who coordinates the whole project.

I’m happy to see that the students have had a good school year in the new (unfinished) school; the funding from supporters made it possible to complete the roof, a new water pump installed and new restrooms built early than expected.

Dannavieng Elementary School

Dannavieng Elementary School

Dannavieng Elementary School

Dannavieng Elementary School

Dannavieng Elementary School

I’m surprised to see such progress being made, a bit worried about the budget at first because everything is so expensive nowadays, but I can see that they’ve used their budget wisely. According to Darly’s post, “The new Dannavieng Elementary School is not quite 100% completed. At the moment, the school is missing the doors, the windows, and of course the concrete floor. The ceilings and the walls are still needed to work on. But even at this state of the condition, the students, parents, and the entire community are happy and grateful to have a new school. They sent their blessings and gratitude to the generous contributors half the world away and waiting for the arrivals of their donors on the opening ceremony of the school. When the school is completed, you will know the date so you can all be there for the Baci ceremony and the ribbon cutting time.”

Dannavieng Elementary School

Dannavieng Elementary School

4 comments

  1. I was just wondering if you are still collecting donations for this? I say the paypal donation button on LaoVoices.com but it was from 2007 so I wasn’t sure. I wanted to give a little something to help, I can’t do much but just a small something.

  2. Yes, we’re still taking donation, any small amount will go a long way, sometimes it’s not the money but it’s the thought that counts. I will be making another round of fund raising of selling spring rolls to my co-workers and also make my donation through paypal button at Laovoices.com. I’ve known and worked with Darly and the Laovoices team (formerly known as Laoplanet for 2 years now) and they are very transparent with their transaction and thanks kindly for your gesture. 🙂 Sorry, button was taken down.

Comments are closed.