Laotian Spring Rolls by Ginger

Less is more” is a motto for minimalist philosophy, but when you get less for your dollar, then that would not work very well. I was surprised to learn that with fuel and delivery costs rising, food manufacturers are faced with raising their prices or giving you less, and it seems that less is the growing trend. According to the article, ‘Shrink ray’ hits consumers’ wallets, By David Ushery and Alex Johnson of NBC News and MSNBC, (and I also noticed this myself) that the two containers of Breyers ice cream looked exactly the same at the supermarket, but if you looked closely and figured out that the old package was 1¾ quarts, while the new package is just 1½ quarts, then you know that you’re not getting the same amount, but looks can be deceiving.

The practice is called short-sizing, and it’s becoming increasingly common to shrink how much stuff goes into the same old box to keep costs down. If you’ve not already noticed this, the next time when you are at the supermarket, look around and you’ll see what I’m talking about, or read the rest of the article here.

So, how is all of this have to do with this post title, Laotian Spring Rolls by Ginger, well, I’m also facing the same dilemma, should I increase the price of my spring rolls or “short-sizing” it, then it becomes “skinny roll”, and I don’t think people will like this. I’ve been busy making spring rolls to raise money to help complete Ban Dannavieng Elementary School in Laos and I’ve noticed that everything is getting so expensive, some of my co-workers suggested that I increase my spring rolls from $1 to $2 each, which I couldn’t bring myself to do, it seems so unfair. At the moment, I don’t think it’s necessary yet because even with the high cost, I still yield a good return, estimate contribution of margin to be about 65%, but it’s still low to me because it used to be 125-150% in the past, by not passing the cost to my buyers, it means that I’ve to make more spring rolls.

I’m not in such a rush with this batch since it’s on the weekend, and these are frozen orders, so I’ve time to take some pictures. The last pictures that I took, one reader commented that he couldn’t tell what that white thing is, was it noodles, or rice? I hope that these photos are clearer, and here are the ingredients as well. I do have to say that making spring rolls is a labor of love, and seeing people enjoy eating them is all it matters.

Laotian Spring Roll Ingredients, to make 50:

1.5 lbs of ground pork
5 oz. cellophane noodles (clear noodle)
2-3 T. soy sauce
¼ T. black pepper
2-3 T. oyster sauce
2 cloves chopped garlic
¼ T. red wine
½ head onion chopped
4-5 carrots shredded
½ head cabbage shredded
2 packages spring roll wrappers (25 wrappers per package)

Add salt if needed to taste

Preparation:

Heat a medium size pan with oil, put about 2 cloves chopped garlic until turn golden brown, put ground pork and stir until cook. Drain out all the fatty liquid, then season pork with black pepper, 2-3 T. of oyster sauce, ¼ T. red wine. Mix and let it sit to cool (Photo bottom left.)

Soak cellophane noodles in warm water, let sit. Five minutes later, drain water, chop noodles (Photo top right.) Shred carrots (Photo bottom left), Chop cabbage (Photo bottom right), and mix everything together.

The wrapper package should explain how to roll them, roll according to package directions and use egg white to seal the spring roll after finish rolling.

Fry spring rolls over medium heat, half submerged in oil, until sort of golden brown.

Heating instruction for frozen spring rolls:

Heat in a pre-heated oven at 375 degree on a wire rack for about 10-12 minutes until crisp.

12 thoughts on “Laotian Spring Rolls by Ginger

  1. Riunite Lambrusco in your eggrolls? Is that to get rid of the pork smell?

    (I know Riunite Lambrusco is a cheap wine but I like it more than the other wine I have tasted so far.)

  2. MMMMMMM…… do you ship? ; D I have to make some for a party in a few weeks and I always worry they fall apart when they get in the oil. I’ll have to try your recipe this time.

  3. I like your style of cooking the meat first. Many people mixed in the meat raw, and I’m always afraid the meat would not cook as well before the shell turns ‘golden brown.’ Is the Riunite used as a sugar substitute perhaps?:))

  4. Dallas and PaNoy, I used to use vinegar to get rid of the pork smell, but found that red wine works better, and it also enhances the flavor of the food. Many people use cooking wine and I read that it has sodium and often alters the flavor of your food, and as for drinking wine, it doesn’t have to be expensive, any drinking wine that tastes good would do. It’s also good for any types of stir-fly, such as vegetables, chicken, meat, and shrimp, just to name a few.

    Hi Kelly, sorry, I don’t ship, I’ve not figured a way to do this yet and it’d be too costly. It’s very simple to make, but do try it first before the party, and have fun cooking. 🙂

  5. Pingback: The View From Brooklyn Bridge « Nye Noona

  6. Pingback: In Remembrance of Mom « Nye Noona

  7. Pingback: Falling Leaves « Nye Noona

  8. Pingback: Children Help Themselves « Nye Noona

  9. Pingback: The Snow « Nye Noona

  10. Pingback: Happy Cash Flow « Nye Noona

Leave a Reply

