Throwdown: Lao Jeow Bong

I’ve decided to take on a challenge to make Lao Jeow Bong originally requested by Jankobot and I found a recipe at seasite.niu.edu. The idea of Throwdown came from Dallas Lao, so we might see his version in the near future this is his version of Lao Jeow Bong.

My ingredients:

10 dried red chili peppers, grilled slowly until brittle, but do not let them burn and turn black

5 (small) shallots, grilled for 30 minutes until turning almost charcoal

5 (small) heads of garlic fire, grilled for 30 minutes until turning almost charcoal

2 slices of galingale, finely chopped

shredded dried pork substitutes for dried water-buffalo skin

salt and fish sauce

brown sugar

chopped coriander leaves for garnish

Method: grill dried red chili peppers, shallots, and garlic.  The chili peppers are done a lot quicker than the shallots and garlic, after 6 minutes of grilling, remove them first, and let the shallots and garlic grill for about 30 minutes.

I use a granite mortal and pestle, it’s heavier and does a better job in pounding, but you do need a lot of muscle because it’s kind of heavy.

First I pound the grilled chili peppers until it’s very fine, adding salt here will make it easier to pound.

Then I add the galingale, grilled shallots, grilled garlic and pound until they form a paste.  Then add shredded dried pork and fish sauce. Add chopped coriander leaves last and for garnish right before you serve.  If you plan to keep this for a long period of time, don’t add the chopped coriander leaves, only add right before you serve.

I didn’t forget the sticky rice.

Lunch is served!

Menu: sticky rice, Lao Jeow Bong, ice water is definitely a must, steamed brocolini, and beef jerky.

I didn’t have any dried Lao beef jerky, and bought a steak, cut into 1/4 inch long strips, season with salt, brown sugar and black pepper. First heat a frying pan with thin layer of oil, lay steak strips down and lower the heat to medium after 3 minutes of cooking on high heat, do not turn the steak strips until the bottom side is done, then turn the steak strips to cook on the other side, it’s done when you smell something burning. Just kidding about the burning smell, I just like mine well done, I think you’d know when it’s done.

26 comments

  1. Sa Bai Dee Thank you very much big sis for this post. BTW, I made your jeow mushroom and it came out so good. I’m going to make this jeow next weekend. My grandparents would always make this and sell it along with the Laotian sausages. Oh btw, I’m working with hip hop producer Swizz Beats into creating an international sound that he wants on his next album and I introduced him into mor lam and the khaen. I gave him Jonny’s contact so hopefully we’ll bring the beautiful sound of Laos to the rest of the world.

    • Sabaidee JaNKoBot, you’re welcome, this would be a good product to sell once you master the ingredients since it lasted for a long time and most Lao people love the spicy taste of Jeow Bong, too bad I didn’t have the dried buffalo skin, but you might want to check out Dallas’s blog later, his ingredients vary slightly.

      I heard about you introducing Jonny Olsen, I read it at your blog. 🙂 It’s a wonderful news for all of us to hear, and Jonny is a nice fellow, he is a farang but have a heart of a Lao person and definitely a mor khane, I met him at Wat Lao Buddhavong in VA twice.

    • mozemoua, dried buffalo skin is the original recipe of Lao Jeow Bong, and some people would use dried shrimps. The good part about this Jeow bong is that it stays good in the fridge for a long, long time.

  2. Wow that looks very good! It would make good picnic food, as it preserves well and isn’t too messy.

    Btw, I also use granite mortar and pestle. But I use it to smash up herbs mostly. It is a work out for my arms. 🙂

    • Cambree, I like the granite mortar, it works well for pounding seasoning also, especially the seasoning like lemongrass. The Lao Jeow bong is very good for traveling, with beef jerky and sticky rice, but next time I need to tune down on the spiciness.

    • lady0fdarkness, it’s very easy to make, but I’ll send some for you to try. I’ll email you early next week for your mailing address.

  3. That will be nice! Thank you, Nye. The thing is.. I don’t make good Jaews. I like other people’s Jaew. So I’d really buy it from you if you can make me some and perhaps add a little pork skin??

    • lady0fdarkness, I’ll add the pork skin for you, and don’t worry about paying me, I just hope that you’ll like it. When I have it ready I’ll email you for the mailing address.

  4. def have to make this, my 6 yr old daughter loves this and it’s so hard to find around here. i will def try this recipe this weekend. oh, so excited, my family is going to love me now (well, just a little more)

    • Terry, sounds like your daughter likes spicy Lao/Thai food, wow, and she is only 6 years old. I’m making another batch this weekend also, it’s for my younger sister, she loves Jeow Bong. I hope it will turn out good for you.

  5. […] Phia Sing’s jaew bong recipe at Traditional Recipes of Laos. Dorothy Culloty’s jeow bong recipe at Food From Northern Laos. Lisa Featherby’s jaew bong recipe at Australian Gourmet Traveller. Mark Busse’s jaew bong recipe at Foodists. Sao Darly’s Aunt Kian’s jeow bong recipe at Sao Darly and YouTube. Nye Noona’s Jeow Bong Throwdown at Nye Noona. […]

  6. Wow! Thank you so much for this recipe! I can’t believe there is a Lao food blogger out here. I’m a full Lao-American girl that’s trying to cook on her own especially when my mom is too fast at cooking for me to learn! LOL! I love my Lao food! It’s so healthy, it’s really simple, and it’s requires no measurements so that means you don’t have to be so precise! Thanks again!

    • Hi Paula, thank you for visiting my blog, there are still a few Lao bloggers here and there on the web 🙂 . One great thing about Lao food is that you can substitute ingredients and modify to your liking. I hope you have fun cooking.

  7. Yummy. Thanks for the detailed description. I grew up eating these type of food too since I am Lao. Reading your recipe and description was entertaining. Thumbs up

Comments are closed.