Chinese New Year: Year of the Fire Rooster

A few days late of posting the Lunar New Year, my dad paid homage to his ancestors on January 28, 2017. This is the year of the Fire Rooster, it’s the 10th year of the zodiac and is also symbolic of hard work and diligence.

This year my dad ordered the chicken and duck from Bo’s farm and Bo deep fried them. This has to be Bo’s proudest moment to have his farm animals as part of the ceremony.

My grandfather was Chinese and passed away before I was born. I’m glad that my dad still carried the tradition and we will certainly pass this down to the younger generations.

Best Year for:  Dragons, Goats
Money Year for:  Snakes, Oxen & Monkeys
Good Year for: Rats, Horses
Mixed Year for:  Roosters, Tigers
Challenging Year for:  Rabbits, Dogs, Pigs

I found some interesting reading here of what is expected for the year.

2 comments

    • Happy Year of the Rooster to you Bree. It’ll be a challenge year for most of us and I’m up for the challenge!

Comments are closed.