The Stress of Selling

I read this and thought how true, “most people sell because of the well-known four D’s: death, departure, divorce and debt, but there is another: downscaling.” The lady that sold the house to us was the death factor, her husband passed away and she sold her house to be closer to family. As for us, it’s downscaling, hard to believe that the house outgrown us and it’s most likely the other way around for most people.
It has been extremely stressful in the last 2 months. Bo and I worked around the clock to get the house ready, and it finally went on the market last week. The house is in a move in ready condition, in a good school district and good neighborhood. I’m hoping that we’ll get lucky.

I never knew how a minimalist live until now, and I have to say that it takes some getting used to. Our house is lived in, and now I have to be a clean freak, can’t wait to get back to normal again. 🙂

I’m glad this part is done, now we’ll have time to work on the new house. I have a painting project, and looking forward to painting Lee’s new room, the office, the hallway, bathroom and deck.

Bo’s project is putting down the hardwood floor and he has several rooms to do.

We expanded the existing fish pond and moved the fish about 2 weeks ago.

They are happy in their new home. The new pond is soupy green at the moment and it should clear up in a week or so.

The quails are extremely happy in the backyard

The female never laid eggs before, and they are the mail order birds that Bo purchased via the Internet.

She started laying eggs when we moved her to the new house.

Max loves the acreage, and his freedom to roam in the woods.

I was surprised to see the Mountain Laurel flowers in the backyard, I just didn’t expect to see it in our area.

Max loves it out here.

7 thoughts on “The Stress of Selling

    • Thank you Ngeun, it’s a lot of work but well worth it. It’s peaceful living in the country, thinking back now we should have done this 10 years ago.

  1. It looks like you and the family are settling in nicely at the new place. And I am sure the old place will sell soon… it’s so sparkly like a gem. 🙂

    So is it nice and cool there with all the trees surrounding the place? And I really like the roof of the new house, it looks like it will last a long time.

    • Hi Bree, it has been a month since we moved and things are coming together nicely. I still have a lot of cleaning up to do, Lee and Max are settled and seem happy at the new place. It is a lot cooler here and I do love the shades. It might be Fall before I could start on the garden, I’m looking forward to working on the country garden.

      We have many people looking at the house but most complaint of small lot and closeness of the neighbors, the same reason why we are selling the house. I’m sure there’ll be someone that won’t mind the small yard, they just have to see that it’s less yard work. 🙂

  2. If you live in my area, you will have 10+ bids within a week and sold the next. The market is crazy here. I would love to have a land and space like your place but this is Texas.

    • Hi Dallas, it’s obvious that it’s a buyer’s market in our area. My youngest sister in NY put her house on the market after us, and she had 3 offers on the 1st week and the house is under contract now. I’ve heard that land in Texas is pricey, and they build houses on a .10 acres lot. That’s crazy and to think it’s in Texas where you expect to have miles and miles of land.

      It’s nice to have big land, since the new place is mostly wooded Bo doesn’t have to do a lot of yard work.

  3. Pingback: Backyard Chicken and Ducks Run | Nye Noona

Leave a Reply

