Year in Review 2014

We celebrated our New Year’s day January 1, 2014 at our local temple Wat Greensboro.

Since I’m part Chinese, we celebrated Chinese New Year at my Dad’s house. The year of the horse is a year of optimistic, and I truly believe that success will come to those that are willing to work hard. As for me it’s a year of opportunities, and I was willing to give it my best shot.

The snow in February was welcoming, Lee didn’t have school and I didn’t have to go to work.

The Spring arrived early in our area, it’s definitely March flowers for us here in North Carolina.

We celebrated Lao/Thai/Khmer New Year in April at Wat Greensboro. It was the time of the year for a new beginning, and for some of us it was the time to wash away the rust that has been clinging to our hearts and souls, learning to let go of the past and to start fresh with the new beginning.

My backyard garden in May, my goal is to be a more attentive gardener next year.

We attended the Dragon boat race in May, I recall learning how to shoot panning just for this event but it has grown on me, now I’m shooting panning every chance I get.

We camped at the Great Smokies KOA at the end of June, I absolutely loved the cool weather in the mountain.

This was our eighth year attending the July 4th celebration at Wat Lao Buddhavong in Catlett Virginia. It’s also our family reunion, my sisters from NYC and us from NC met halfway.

I was fortunate to see Tingnoy in concert, she is a Lao singer from Laos.

And also Jew Amoranrat’s concerts on July 4th and 5th. She is a famous singer from Thailand, and well know and accepted as Lao singer in Laos.

We went camping at Myrtle Beach on labor day weekend.

The Crape Myrtle trees bloomed in August/September in our area.

We took several camping trips to Green Mountain, this was one beautiful September night sky.

We celebrated Thot Kathin ceremony at our local temple Wat Greensboro in October.

We also celebrated Lai Heur Fai Nam or Loy Krathong in October at Wat Greensboro.  It is widely believed that these are offerings made to Mae Khongkha (mother of waters) either to please her in an expression of gratitude for providing life-sustaining water throughout the year, and to ask her for forgiveness for man’s carelessness in polluting the water that nourishes all life. Many also believe that by setting adrift the krathong, one symbolically casts away one’s grief, misery, and ill fortunes.  As for me, I casted away my grief, misery, and ill fortunes and let it floated away with my Heur Fai Nam.

October was the month of County Fairs in our area.

My garden in November was thriving.

I attended the Hmong New Year in November.

and visited McAdenville in December.

This year has been a challenge to me at work, and it’s obvious by my absent from this blog. It was also a year of lots of opportunities. I fell like I’ve been in a rat race, and just got dragged in by the cat. I’m still smiling so I’m not doing too bad. I’ve seen people take a selfie image all the time with their cell phone, and I was determined to take a selfie with my DSLR camera. I have to say it is not easy but doable.

2 thoughts on “Year in Review 2014

  1. Hello! Merry Christmas and Happy New Year! I haven’t blogged in over two years but glad i’m back at it. Guess now I have to catch up on things lol
    Love reading your posts!

    Noy

    • Hi Noy, Happy New Year to you and your family. I’m glad to hear from you, I didn’t post as much last year and hope to stay on track this year. 🙂

Leave a Reply

