Grandfather Mountain North Carolina

I apologize for not being able to reply to comments right away, and greatly appreciated that you have visited and read my posts.  I’ll be shooting my first wedding this weekend and really excited and looking forward to the event.

We visited Grandfather Mountain in Linville, North Carolina during our last camping trip on Memorial Day weekend.  When they say ‘wonders never cease’, it’s so true when standing on top of the mountain. I had only heard about the Mile High Swinging Bridge from Lee during her school trip, and the term “mile high” refers to the structure’s elevation above sea level (5,280 feet).

My sister teases me about Comet PANSTARRS every time we see a jet tail, I guess I deserved to be teased.

Feeding time for the bears.

I’m sure she had no intention of mooning us.

A cougar in its natural habitat.

White-tailed deers

River Otters

Bald Eagle

Photo taken on top of Split Rock

The squirrels look different from where we live, I notice they have longer ear hairs and bushier tail.

I couldn’t afford to buy souvenirs to bring back these days, but who say you can’t take them back with you.

We stopped by the Blue Ridge Parkway roadside vendor to buy honey.

There are many waterfalls along the highway. This is one of the best trips we had so far, and we hope to visit Cherokee North Carolina next month.

Photos were taken with 5DMkIII, Canon 24-105mm f/4L lens, and EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens.

12 thoughts on “Grandfather Mountain North Carolina

    • Hi See, the wedding was interesting and I thought the photos came out good. I hope to make a post soon, first I have to make a few posts of July 4th concert at Wat Lao Buddhavong.

  1. This place seems really peaceful and relaxing. The view from the top is awesome too.

    I always hear about Mountain Laurels, but never seen a photo of one. Will have to look out for these flowers when I am at the Sierra Nevada mountains. Lovely photos as always – and I love the look of the squirrel. 🙂

    • Hi cn, we passed this place numerous times when visiting Biltmore and this was our first time visiting and we really liked it. I want to go back in the Fall, I bet the autumn leaves are beautiful. I saw the Mountain Laurels for the first time in Green Mountain and they are beautiful.

  2. Dear Friend, Haven’t visited for a long time and just wanted you to know I enjoyed this post. Miss you, AEC

  3. Hiya, Boss!

    What’s up? Sorry haven’t been commenting on your blog. But you know I am around. 😉 . Okay just checking up on you to see how you doing. Later.

    • Hi Scott, I’ve been so busy these days and keep thinking that I will post tomorrow when I have more time. I do missed blogging and reading my favorite blogs, and will have to manage my time better.

Leave a Reply

