Assignment 24: Black & White Photography

This is my contribution to Scott’s Assignment 24: Black & White Photography. I’ve decided to shoot in Raw and in color, then post production conversion to Black & White in Lightroom 4.  I thought it would be interesting to see vibrant subjects in Black & White so I went to visit a small backyard chicken farm.

It was a long drive, way out in the country.

It’s interesting to see how the conversion works, for the Black & White mix I decreased the Red, Orange, Yellow, Green, Aqua, and increased Blue, Purple and Magenta slightly.  I also increased the temperature to brighten the image, and added vignetting to draw attention to the focal point of the image.

One week old chicken peeps.

Three day old chicken peeps.

And way past their bedtime.

This is my first time trying Black & White, and I really liked it.  The assignment is due on March 20, 2013, please check the assignment link above if you like to participate. And thank you Scott for giving me the opportunity to try Black & White Photography.

9 thoughts on “Assignment 24: Black & White Photography

  1. It is interesting to see how black and white can change the balance in a photo, sometimes colors are so interesting that the lines and subject doesn´t have first priority. You have tried out many different styles, I think I like the egg photo most, because of the eggs making a light and shadow pattern. (But the chickens are very cute!) Congratulations with the new theme you have chosen. 🙂

    • Thanks Giiid, black and white is definitely different from what I’m used to, and we noticed the light and shadow right away. I will need to learn more about black and white photography, I’m glad it’s an assignment otherwise I wouldn’t try to tackle this on my own.

  2. Pingback: Visiting Grandma Last Weekend | Nye Noona

  3. Beautiful! I never would have thought of photographing chickens in black and white — their colors are so vivid. But these are great! Somehow, the black and white seems to bring out the textures so well.

    • Thank deidrea, it’s kind of interesting to see in post production the colors stripping away and what’s left are the light, dark, shadows and textures. Black and White photography is definitely my new favorite. 🙂

Leave a Reply

