The 2013 Year of the Snake

Happy Chinese New Year.  According to the prediction, the 2013 year of Snake is meant for steady progress and attention to detail. Focus and discipline will be necessary for you to achieve what you set out to create. source. I’m just hoping for a good year. My dad started his tradition of paying homage to our ancestors on Saturday, Chinese New Year’s Eve.

The table was set for two, my grandfather and grandmother both passed away before we were born.

The noodle dish symbolizes longevity.

The chicken symbolizes completeness, it is important that it’s head, tail and feet are intact.

It’s odd to see red roses in the vase. My choice would be white or yellow but I guess it’s easier to find red roses during this time of the year.

This picture was taken from a wallet size image.  My sister took it to a Photo Place in Chinatown New York over 25 years ago to have it enlarged.  The owner told her that he had to take a picture of the image, then enlarged it.  It turned out pretty good.

My uncle wanted a photo of his dad, I cropped the above image, and repaired what I could.

We had a Chinese New Year lunch and diner at my dad’s house on Saturday.

The girls were happy to receive Lai See money, Lee got $140.00

My dad decorated his house for Chinese New Year by the way.  I wish you all a Happy and Prosperous Chinese New Year.

Leave a Reply

