Laotian Visitation

Unlike the American visitation, the Laotians visit the deceased family the day that the person passed away and everyday after that until the funeral. Portou Ny, Bo’s uncle passed away on Tuesday and families and friends from far and near traveled to pay their respects.

IMG_2556

The weather was real bad in our area today, we had sleet and this made traveling very difficult and we saw several accidents on the highway. I’m glad we made it to our destination safely and visited with the family. When we got there the monks were chanting.

IMG_2527

IMG_2541

IMG_2545

My sister paid her respect. She lit one incense stick and I didn’t know that you can’t light it from the lit candles. I didn’t ask why, not sure if they were afraid that the candles would go out or it’s bad luck. There was a lighter there to light the incense stick.

IMG_2546

If I remembered correctly from my mom’s funeral, the white bundle on the right hand side was his personal items, which includes clothing.

IMG_2551

Below is Cun 5, and it’s 5 pairs of flowers and candles for paying homage to the lord Buddha.

IMG_2553

Families and friends give money to the deceased family as a merit making.

IMG_2561

Ai’Khaith was busy writing his dad’s life history. Portou Ny had 4 children, and Ai’Khaith is the oldest.

IMG_2574

The ladies were preparing dork Janh, the funeral flowers.

IMG_2592

IMG_2580

IMG_2623

IMG_2632

They didn’t have a sewing machine, so it’s back to the basic of using thread and needle.

IMG_2601

My sister made a Lao tubular skirt (sinh) for the white nun.

IMG_2604

IMG_2608

The funeral is tomorrow and unlike American’s funeral, we photograph and video record the funeral service. It will be a busy day for me.

5 thoughts on “Laotian Visitation

    • Thank you Theek for your kind words. It’s a beautiful tradition and I’m glad it’s not lost in the US. I finally have a chance to make a blog post, I hope you like the photos.

  1. Pingback: Laotian Funeral Service « Nye Noona

  2. I send my condolences to you and your family.

    I also lost a favorite uncle a few years ago and remember the funeral process was done much the same way. I sometimes wonder if this tradition will last for another generation.

    • Thank you cn. I sometime wonder about that also, as for my generation we know very little about the Buddhist tradition and let along Lee’s generation.

Leave a Reply

