Collecting Seeds

The seed packs are not very expensive but it’s always nice to be able to collect your own seeds for next year’s planting season.  I didn’t have that much time to work in my garden this year but next year I will have to manage my time better.

I’ll start adding exif data in case if it will help anyone, I used the rule of thirds to crop all three images.

Okra-Manual mode, f/5.6, 1/25, ISO800, Focal95, pattern metering

Thai basil-Manual mode, f/5.6, 1/25, ISO800, Focal105, pattern metering

Spinach vine seeds-Manual mode, f/5.6, 1/15, ISO800, Focal80, pattern metering

6 thoughts on “Collecting Seeds

  1. Thanks Nye, this is very helpful to me! I am still learning about seeds and plants and every bit of info like this helps so much. Like I had no idea how to get spinach seeds other than to buy them. Gardens are the ultimate way to learn so much, like patience… lol

    • Hi Cissy, I’m not always successful planting from seeds, and the local nursery is a good place to buy young plants also. I like gardening and it allows us to step back and enjoy life and nature, you definitely have to have lots of patience to be a good gardener. 🙂

  2. Hi Nye. Botanical Garden, Arboretum, and college campuses are also other nice places to gather seeds…lol. I usually gather mine from UNC campus and sometimes from the NC Botanical, but the ones from friends are the most valuable:))

    • Hi PaNoy, I never thought to collect seeds from public places, but I can see that you would get a good variety of plants. I will have to keep that in mind. 🙂

  3. This is a good reminder for me to start saving seeds too. I actually had some nice flower seeds from somewhere that I’ve misplaced. Need to get better organized.

    Btw, how do you cook okra? My grandma always loved okra in stew, I just find them a bit slimy.

    • cn, I misplaced my seeds all the time, and by the time I found them the planting season was over. I need a designated place to store my seeds.

      My mom steamed or broiled her okra and it was slimy also. I grill mine, cut about 1/2 inch thick and grill them over a hot frying pan with butter or olive oil. The freshly picked Okra are really good, even Lee likes it.

Leave a Reply

