It is not a Lao Birthday Party

We have attended my niece birthday party on Saturday at 4 pm.  This was the first time my niece invited her friends from school, actually only some of the girls from her school. One of the parents asked my sister why she had the party at 4 pm (16:00) because most birthday parties start at 1 or 2 pm (13:00 or 14:00). Of course he was referring to an American birthday party.  I guess my sister still thinking in Lao time, most Lao birthday parties start around 4 or 5 pm, and there’s no ending time. In a Lao birthday party the parents stay for dinner and the host has to prepare a lot of food. This is something new to my sister, the parents dropped their kids off at her house and they came back to pick their daughters up around 5 and 6 pm.

I had to shoot in ISO 3200, so it has some digital noise. This is the birthday girl, a little tan from last weekend at the beach.

I think this is her best birthday party ever, and she had a very happy birthday.

I notice one girl with her flip flops on. she must have not seen the invisible sign that read ‘Take your shoes off” at the door because Laotians don’t wear shoes inside. What can I say, it’s not a Lao birthday party.

Photos were taken with a Canon T2i and EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM lens.

4 thoughts on “It is not a Lao Birthday Party

Leave a Reply

