Pirateland Campground in Myrtle Beach Day 3


Click here to watch this video on YouTube

Monday was labor day, and also our last day at the beach so I got up early to see the sunrise.  We headed to the other side of the campground, I knew the sun rises in the East, the same spot as the moon risen the other night.

The first and second image was 20 minutes apart, I was thinking about doing time-lapse but gave up on the idea afterward.

There are rows of houses near the campground.

Also plenty of pennyworth as you can see. The leaves are so thick and healthy, and I bet they would make good juice or salad.

The campground was so big and Bo rented a golf cart to tour the place.  It’s especially nice that we could get to one side of the campground to the next in just minutes.  After we left the beach Bo drove me to the pond where the swans and Great Egret live.

I spotted a flock of Canadian geese from a distance and they were heading toward the pond.

When I got there the swans were busy grooming themselves.  I sat and waited, and about to give up since it took them forever to finish their business.

I was glad to see them swimming toward me.

The Great Egret didn’t move, I wonder if it were the same one that I saw yesterday.

They swam toward the row of campers/houses. These are permanent residents and their annual maintenance fees are not cheap.

I bet this lady feeds them every morning.  I don’t know if that’s a good or bad thing since there are so many little fish that they could try to catch and feed themselves.  This is like a Chinese proverb, “give a man a fish and you feed him for a day. Teach a man to fish and you feed him for a lifetime.” Obvious these birds don’t need to be taught how to catch fish, but they should be left along in their natural habitat so they could catch their own foods.

I have to say that this sign says it all, Life is good!

All photos and video were shot with a Canon T2i, EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM lens, and EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens.

4 thoughts on “Pirateland Campground in Myrtle Beach Day 3

    • Thanks Scott for your kind comment, I’m inspired by travel photographs and a story telling photos and hope someday to be able to travel further than our east coast.

Leave a Reply

