Grandma’s Garden


Click here to watch this video on YouTube

Grandma’s garden is a true Laotian garden.  It’s not because she has the straw hat as a scarecrow, not sure if it’s working, but her garden is a Lao garden because of the different Lao herbs and vegetables that she grew in her garden.  I think it has become a kitchen garden for those that stop by to buy her eggs also.  I guess not such a bad deal for her customers, free-range organic eggs and really free vegetables.

She has a good size garden and has plenty of room to plant the Thai eggplants.

The variety that she likes to plant produces purple flowers, and it does taste very much like a regular Thai eggplant.

Sawtooth Coriander

Bo gave his mom some seeds in the Spring and told her that they were sugar cane seeds.  She planted them several months back, and they don’t look anything like sugar cane.  I didn’t think they were sugar canes, I don’t think you plant sugar cane from seed.  I think they look like Sorghum, which is made into sweet sorghum syrup.

Grandma is clueless of what to do with them or how to harvest Bo’s sugar cane.

As I was shooting the garden video I heard interesting noises and one being the tiller.  Bo bought this for his dad not too long ago and it quits working.  Lawn tiller maintenance is very important and I guess his dad didn’t follow the maintenance schedule. I’m glad they finally got it to work again.

Back to shooting the garden, this is an odd looking string beans.  It’s green with purple color, I wonder if it’s a mixed breed.  Grandma used to plant purple string beans before but I’ve not seen a mixed breed like this until now.

Young guava tree

This is another Lao herb called pak kayang, not sure what it’s called in English.

Tamarind tree

Sadao or Neem tree

Grandma has a green and lush garden, and only if I lived closer to her then I wouldn’t have to worry about not having fresh herbs and vegetables.

All photos and video were shot with a Canon T2i and EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM lens.

6 thoughts on “Grandma’s Garden

    • Truels, the Laotian plants are tropical and require a lot of nurturing which I never have much luck with them. Grandma has a green thumb and everything she touches grow.

  1. Where is this? I live in Thailand but am moving back to North Carolina. I really want to know if it is possible to grow a tamarind tree in the States, among other vegetables and herbs.
    I’m really enjoying reading your posts ^^ I loved the green sticky rice post, I really like ข้าวเม่า

    • Hi Christina, Grandma lives in Salisbury and it’s too cold in the winter months for the herbs and tamarind tree to survive outside so she takes them inside her garage during the cold months. The Summer in NC is a bit longer than up North so we get to enjoy the garden for several months. ขอขอบคุณที่มาเยี่ยมและ comment. 🙂

Leave a Reply

