Kao Mao or Young Sticky Rice Dessert


Click here to watch this video on YouTube

We visited Grandma on Sunday and very fortunate that PaNoy and his family also visited and brought some young sticky rice from his garden to make Kao Mao or young sticky rice dessert.

His mom separated the young green rice from the mature golden color rice since they have to be cooked separately.  It doesn’t take as long to cook the young rice, I think that’s what she said.

His mom removed the rice from the branches.

Grandma then cooked the rice with pods in medium heat.

She then removed the rice pods with a mortar and pestle. Grandma came from Southern Laos and she said that people in her village would tum kao, which is a process of removing rice pods with a big wooden mortar and pestle during the day time.  And at night the young ladies in the village would tum kao mao, and the bachelors would listen to see which house was making Kao Mao and would visit the young lady’s house.  I guess the house that tum kao mao would have gentlemen callers.  If you understand Lao, she was telling this story in the video.

She made a dessert with Asian potato from her garden.  This was Bo’s bowl.

I recently have many foods allergy and couldn’t eat so she gave me a bowl of plain Kao Mao and it was delicious.

PaNoy made pickled crab apples for us to try.  After talking to him I realized that the process of canning is different between the American and Laotian. He canned his when the water is still hot, and I would let the water to cool down first before pouring into the jar, that’s how my mom taught me.  I guess the process made a huge different in taste, and after learning about canning the American way I think I would still stick with the Laotian style of canning.

His brother Nuk made hot chili sauces and too bad I can’t try since he has so many ingredients.  I could only eat basic seasoning of salt, sugar and black pepper these days. I wish him best of luck in marketing and selling his hot sauces.

All photos and video were shot with a Canon T2i and EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM lens.

5 thoughts on “Kao Mao or Young Sticky Rice Dessert

  1. I realized now why my pickled crab apples shrink in size, although I stuffed the jar packed before pouring in my hot & concentrated sugar, vinegar solution. I think CN knows the answer.

    By the way, not being bias or anything, but Aii Nuk’s Gourmet Hot Chili Sauce is really out of this world!!! Too many sauces out there with just the heat and not much flavor. I recommend this sauce with all dishes, except peanut butter jelly sandwiches–unless you are an adventurer.

    • PaNoy, I still find pouring hot water into the jar very odd. I read the instruction on line of how to pickle cucumber and when I read about the hot water, I thought they wrote it wrong and went with my gut instinct of waiting for it to cool first. I’m glad I did becasue my pickled cucumbers were crunchy.

      One of these days I have to try the hot sauce, hopefully my food allergy will get better soon.

  2. Out here Kao Mao only comes around on special occasions. My mom also loves plain Kao Mao, but I prefer it with sugar & coconut cream.

    The American way of serious canning has lots of instructions. And some use pressure cooker. Some veggies if not done right, can lead to botulism.

    Since we are using vinegar with our pickles, it’s much more safe. As for the process itself, I also let my water cool first. And sea salt gives the pickles extra crunch.

    The hot sauce with habanero chili looks super hot. Too bad I am wimp when it comes to hot & spicy food. Good luck to Aii Nuk. 🙂

    • cn, I like Kao Mao with sugar & coconut cream also. When I was little in Thailand we would get to eat Kao Mao near harvest time and it was plentiful not like here. PaNoy’s mom and Grandma made the dessert with Asian potato so that there’s plenty to go around, I got lucky that I get to eat the real Kao Mao. I guess I should thank my food allergy. 🙂

  3. Pingback: A Visit to PaNoy’s Garden « Nye Noona

Leave a Reply

