Got Lost While Hiking to Harper Creek Falls

We went hiking at Wilson Creek to see the closest waterfalls, the Harper Creek Falls.  We didn’t know the direction and saw a man and his 2 sons on our way up.  His direction was simple, but it took us to a different journey.  He said “when you come to a fork, take the trail on the right.” Which we did.

Since this was our first time and we didn’t know what to look for, we saw the red marking on the trees all the way up to the top of the mountain. If only we have known that it’s the orange marking that we should be following, now we know.

Yes, we went all the way to the top and was making our way down the other side of the mountain when Bo decided to call his friend.  We took the wrong trail and had to make our way back and by then we had been hiking for about an hour.  Lee was not happy, she didn’t care to hike and just wants to go swimming in the creek.

I saw this orange butterfly when we reached the top.  I didn’t get a clear shot, kind of hard trying to take picture and running to catch up at the same time.

Wild mushrooms I saw on the trail.

I’m not sure if the spider was alive, I didn’t stick around long enough to see it moves.

The circle of life, I’m just glad that it’s not us.

The Yellow Jacket chased me after I finished filming him, I must have ran pretty fast because I lost him.

[vimeo https://vimeo.com/47637019 w=515&h=290]

On our way back down we saw this strange looking frog.  It’s very small, no bigger than my thumb.

By the time we got down, it was too late for us to hike to Harper Creek Falls and we’ll have to try again some other day.  This time we won’t get lost, I’ll think of Robert Frost’s poem, the Road Not Taken.

“Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveler, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth;

Then took the other, as just as fair,
And having perhaps the better claim
Because it was grassy and wanted wear,…”

As for Lee, she had about half an hour to play in the creek before we had to head back to the campground.

All photos were taken with a Canon T2i and EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM lens.

6 thoughts on “Got Lost While Hiking to Harper Creek Falls

  1. That road less traveled did make lots of difference.
    Glad you guys made it back safely.

    Those mushrooms look like they can give you some really interesting dreams??:))

    • Hi PaNoy, we didn’t plan very well and I’m glad my dad didn’t try to hike up there with us. It’s interesting to see all those odd looking mushrooms, I’m not sure if any has the same potent as the magic mushroom. 🙂

  2. Maybe you need a compass on the next outing? 😉

    Glad Lee got her swim & everyone made it back safely. And I love the photos of the mushrooms!

    • Hi cn, not just a compass but more research and better planning next time. I hope to go back in September and maybe this time we’ll get to see the falls. 🙂

Leave a Reply

