Assignment 20: Birds in Motion

This is my contribution to Scott’s Assignment 20: Motion.  I was fortunate to spot a hummingbird this evening in my garden.  As I was waiting for him to return, I spotted this yellow birth perching on my Maximilian sunflower.

Then he flew away. I was hoping that he would and was able to capture him in motion.

I waited for about 10 minutes, the hummingbird did return.

He perched on my hummingbird feeder.

He drank a few times.

He must have heard my camera’s shutter.

Then he flew away. The subject in this last image is kind of blurry, and it would have appeared that the hummingbird feeder is the main subject according to the rule of thirds, but I like the overall composition and I think it’s my favorite motion image that I took today. The deadline for the assignment is July 25th, I hope you will participate in this assignment.

All photos were taken with Canon T2i and EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens.

13 comments

  1. Love these shots, Nye! Do you know what type of hummingbird that is? I have only seen the ruby-throated around here. That last shot is cool – almost ghostly looking.

Comments are closed.