Ross’s Graduation Party

I went to Ross’s graduation party on Saturday, he recently graduated from the University of North Carolina at Greensboro.

I decided to pack light and only brought my 50mm lens, it’s great for indoor with low lighting and food photography. The foods were delicious and my only problem was that I have  recently developed food allergy and I tried my luck with a few dishes.  Needless to say I suffered terribly and not worth the risk after I came to my senses but by then it was too late.

Most guests gave money as gifts, a typical Laotian gift.

Ross has a ball python as pet. Ball pythons are so named because when threatened they roll themselves into a tight ball, tucking their head inside their coils. Young ball pythons grow about a foot a year for three years. They can live for a long time with proper care – up to about 50 years, although 20-30 appears to be more typical. Source.

I’m glad he’s inside a glass tank, otherwise I wouldn’t be able to capture these images.  I’m afraid of snake of any kind.

Smokey is a family dog, and Bo brought him to live with his sister’s family when he was a puppy.

It took 4 girls to walk this dog.

I stop by Grandma’s to see her garden.  Her cucumber is doing very well this year in comparison to mine, wait till you see my cucumber, it’s a very sad sight.

This post is turning into my normal Saturday Random Photos, and the last set is my sister’s love bird.  I took these photos while visiting with her that morning.

All photos were taken with Canon T2i and EF50mm f/1.4 lens.

6 thoughts on “Ross’s Graduation Party

    • Thanks seeharhed. My sister opened the cage for me to poke my head in there to get a better shot. I’m glad he didn’t come any closer.

  1. Congrats to Ross! Welcome to the real world. 🙂

    Sorry to hear about the food allergies. Do you remember what dish was the trigger? Knock on wood…but my life would be so sad if I was allergic to fruits.

    • cn, the real world is not what it used to be, and kind of scary right now. There’s like thousands of job applicants for 1 job opening.

      I ate all the dishes that I photographed, and Lao food with spices seems to trigger the rash/hives. I’m able to eat apples and bananas, but not mangoes. It’s kind of sad that I couldn’t eat many dishes.

Leave a Reply

