Saturday Random Photos

Before I start my Saturday Random Photos, or some might call it Saturday ranting photos, I like to wish all the wonderful mothers out there a very Happy Mother’s Day. I have not posted my mother’s orchid in a while and it’s not doing too well this year.  My sister needs to re-pot it soon, the flowers wilted before they even bloom. This year we are heading to the temple to make merit for my deceased mom, she is gone but not forgotten and will always be in our heart.

My second sister’s orchid has many blooms.

Back to my Saturday ranting photos, the hype is fitness these days.

 

Lee has her 5 pound dumbbell set, and a 1 pound weighted hula hoop.  My niece is using my 3 pound weighted hula hoop below.

I like the 3 pound hula hoop since it is padded with foam and it gives a good work out while watching TV.

This is Lee’s normal daily routine.  She has grown by leaps and bounds this year, and I think it’s time for her to move on to using the 2 or 3 pound weighted hula hoop. They had a hula hoop contest and my niece won on this round.

Lee won on the second round of hula hooping 2 hula hoops. If you were to ask Lee she would tell you that this is her talent. 🙂

The girls were having so much fun that I didn’t have to pay my niece to levitate this time.

My dad has been retiring for over 10 years now, and he still look very fit for his age.

His Asian corns are growing, and I can see that my second sister has a lot of weeding to do.

The snow peas in the above photo are climbing the teepee trellis.

We used to live up North and I didn’t notice the red clay dirt, especially in New York.  When I was in High School we lived in Philadelphia for 2 years and our back yard dirt was dark from what I could recall.   But as we moved further South the dirt is red, and this is North Carolina red clay soil.

I’m not planting the long string beans this year but my dad is despite the bad crops that he had last year. It must be a tradition and it wouldn’t be a Lao garden without the long string beans.

Cucumber plants

Chili pepper and tomato plants.

My dad bought top soil to mix in with the clay dirt for gardening.

It’s another year of beautiful Pomegranate flowers.

But sadly this might be another year of fruitless pomegranate also.

My dad’s front yard has many beautiful flowers blooming.  This one my second sister planted several years back.

And some are fading fast and this stresses the fact of life that nothing last forever. Time waits for no one.

Dark orange marigold made me think of the Buddhist worship flowers, and also the color of the monk’s rope.  The background was where her fishpond used to be and now it is a small rose garden.

This defeats the whole purpose of exercising would you say, Lee was getting ready to make S’mores and parading around with Hershey’s chocolate.

This is an American classic in every child’s treat especially at camping.

But not so much of the stove since this is a Lao classic stove for cooking.  My mom bought this from Tennessee many years ago, and it is used for cooking back home. The stove is powered by charcoal.

The girls dumped the burnt marshmallows in the stove.

We had a lot of fun in the backyard and look forward to making more S’more at camping.

All photos were taken with Canon T2i, and EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM lens, except for the first 2 photos were taken with the EF 50mm f/1.4 lens.

4 thoughts on “Saturday Random Photos

    • Hi salalao, the weighted hula hoop is really great, they have up to 5 pounds but might be too heavy for you. My second sister loves her 4 pounds weighted hula hoop.

      I’m sure you can find fat free stuff to make S’more, having kids around gives me an excuse to be a kid again. 🙂

  1. Your dad’s garden is definitely the traditional Lao garden. Perfect ingredients for a nice Lao meal.

    And the girls are having so much fun making S’mores. I can’t remember the last time I had S’mores either. Looks like a great weekend there. 🙂

    • cn, the S’mores is much better at camping and with real campfire but it’s still a lot of fun in your own backyard. My dad enjoys working in his garden, I guess I must have got it from him. 🙂

Leave a Reply

