Saturday Random Photos

I guess beauty is in the eye of the beholder.  My sister Bee brought  her new puppy to my dad’s house yesterday to play, both my second sister and dad said that it is ugly. I’m not sure if they meant literary.  See, it is a custom for Laotian to say something is ugly when it is cute, especially for a new born baby so that the evil spirit won’t come and take the baby away.  But I’m not sure in this case if it applied to dog and cat as well.

I guess in his case, it’s all speculation and beauty is in the eye of the beholder.

She named him Patch because of his colors and I’m glad he has found himself a loving home.

Lee loves dog and cat, and drooling over him. Despite us being Asian, I hope you don’t take the drooling part literary, and no we don’t eat dog or cat.  It looks like Lee has found her new playmate, and I’m sure they will be spending more Saturdays together.

He got her cornered.

My dad and second sister finally planted their garden.

A new trellis went up next to the lemongrass planting bed.

It is a trellis for snow peas.  Snow peas is one of the earliest-known cultivated plants with evidence of having been cultivated in a region that is now along the Thailand-Burma border over 12,000 years ago. Source.

They do like to climb.

I’m beginning to think that this is going to be another year of fruitless Pomegranate.

At least they have pretty flowers and you could use the leaves to make tea.

My dad and second sister planted Asian corn, they had a good crops last year.

They planted a row of normal size cucumber, and the cucumber plants  will climb on trellis.  This makes picking so much easier, and a lot cleaner.

And long string beans, which my dad has better luck than me.

If you are wondering about my sister’s seedlings, they are still very tiny. My sister is baffled and not sure why it is taking them so long to grow.  It doesn’t look like I will get to plant the Thai eggplants this year.

Bamboos are some of the fastest growing plants in the world, and kind of scary how you planted them in your yard and the next thing you know it appears in the middle of your neighbor’s yard.  This one is at the edge of my dad’s yard and he poured a cement foundation for it so it wouldn’t be able to spread.  It was a lot of work, but I think he sleeps better at night knowing that his bamboo shoots won’t be bothering this  neighbors anytime soon.

The shoots came out early and he has enough to make Bamboo soup.

we still have some cold nights,  and the frosts did a lot of damages to the new leaves.

I’m glad that the Rhododendron came out later, and were in full bloom on Saturday.

There are plenty of spring flowers blooming during this time.

It was dusk when we got home, and I’m glad that there was still some daylight for me to take picture of my purple Iris.

Bo’s Paeonia ‘Krinkled White’ finally bloom.

My Knockout Roses are in full bloom, and a few tall bamboo shoots in the background. We have been getting a steady rainfalls and this has helped the plants tremendously.

Photos were taken with CanonT2i, EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens and EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM lens.

10 thoughts on “Saturday Random Photos

  1. I think I’ve come to love you guys!!! haha Who could resist you, soooo cute, you sisters and the puppy too! Your gardens are simply gorgeous, so inspiring, I always look forward to a new post from my girls from Laos. You are such a beautiful family, inside and out. Thanks for sharing your life!!!

    • Thanks cissyblue, it’s very kind of you. 🙂 We do live a simple life, and a lot of times the simple things in life are free. As for me, some of my co-workers think I ain’t right, but what can I say. 😉

  2. LOL@drooling….hahahha Yes!!!! Not all Asian eats animal :-). I like how you made that disclaimer…

    Something about older asian folks.. they would just make a comment without thinking others might be offended by it. For example: If someone is on a heavy side and they haven’t seen each other for long time… First thing comes out their mouth would be… ooyy ja man toui nor deal nee (you gained a lot of weight these days).. hahhahahahah

    • seeharhed, as for me the elder are kinder with their words, instead of saying ‘Ja man toui nor’ they would say ‘ja man king joum nor’, the meaning is still the same, they said it as if I’m a heavy baby. 🙂

    • Thanks truels, I swore that I thought my second sister and dad really thought the puppy is ugly. I think the puppy is adorable and not the easiest to get him to sit still for a photo. 🙂

  3. What a sweet little puppy. The first photo of your sister and the dog is very good, it is clear that they really like each other!
    And your garden look nice, – of course!

    • Thanks Giiid, I’m glad I had a chance to take their photo when he is still a pup and he’ll be growing in no time. Most gardeners in our area started planting their garden last weekend, and we still have some cold nights to loose sleep over. I do look forward to Summer harvest.

  4. The garden is a feast for the eyes as always. I must tell you that the dog reminds me very much of my beloved boon companion, Jake. We’d had him for awhile when my parents came to visit. Without thinking my mother said “I think that’s the ugliest dog I’ve ever seen!” In time she came to realize what fine qualities he possessed. He lived to be 17, and I miss him still. (See Jake, my boon companion)

    • Hi Gerry, thanks for sharing the story of Jake, and he was a fine looking dog. I guess the reaction must be from the first impression, but once you get to know them you just can’t help but to love them. It’s finally planting season in our area, and that’s all my co-workers and I talk about these days. 🙂

Leave a Reply

