March Winds and April Showers

Last day of March and we have been getting a good steady rainfalls.  I like taking pictures in the morning but not so much in the rain and I didn’t have a rain sleeve for my camera. I had to use a plastic trash bag to protect my camera from this morning’s drizzle.  It works well, but not very pretty to look at.

I started planting early this year to utilize my garden space better and so far I have been enjoying eating fresh romaine lettuce. They are great for salad.

My mixed salad greens that I put down the seeds 2 weeks ago finally came up. I thought the birds ate it all but I see they left me some.

I planted beets because they are pretty and can tolerate cool weather.

CN commented on my blog last year of how her mom protects her young plants by using empty water bottles.  I thought it was a good idea at the time, and wanted to give it a try myself.  So far it’s working great.  I cut the bottom of the water bottles and cover over my pickle cucumber plants. This helps to protect the young plants from the cool weather at night, and harsh sun during the day.  Also I don’t have to be extra careful when watering them.

I planted these 2 days ago and the young pickle cucumber plants look very healthy.

My Gardenia plants are budding.

And so are my Knock-Out Roses.

This is a favorite hangout spot for the fish.  I think they are spawning or mating. Bo finally released the two long tail comets into the pond.

The season has changed but the colors of the Japanese maple leaves in our front yard remind me of the Fall colors.

Photos were taken with CanonT2i, EF50mm f/1.4 and EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens.

8 thoughts on “March Winds and April Showers

  1. Beautiful shots! I long for my own garden someday. My last attempt at growing something, besides a baby, was one of those strawberry window beds that I ordered in the mail. It did not work at all!

    Your garden looks fabulous and I will be referring to your site for tips and inspiration. 😁

    • Hi Laotian Commotion, I was real bad at the beginning and now things beginning to look more like a garden, and me, a gardener. I’m not very good with indoor plants either, they don’t need to be watered as often and I sometime forget to water them. Thanks for referring to my site as tips and inspiration, it really is an honor. 🙂

  2. So much is happening in your garden already! Here I am preparing the soil – and germinating indoors.
    Beautiful images!
    And good idea to put plastic bottles over sprouts, I must try that!

    • Hi truels, we still have some cool nights and most of these vegetables can tolerate the cool weather. The plastic bottles are working great so far and they help to protect the young plants from the heavy showers that we have been getting also.

  3. I’m happy to see the plastic bottles are being reused in the garden. 🙂

    Your planting season is much earlier than ours. And lucky you to have fresh spring salads.

    • Hi cn, I’m planting mostly early spring vegetables that could tolerate the cool weather. Thanks for the great tips, the plastic bottles are great and I should be able to remove them by next week. The fresh vegetables are great for salad.

Leave a Reply

