Jewerly Making Class

It has been several weeks since I took a jewelry making class at Michael.  It all started when Lee wanted to make jewelry and I didn’t know the first thing about it at the time.  I bought a Beading 101 book and had a hard time knowing what pieces and the types of tool to buy.

After I took the class, I now know what pieces to buy and what I like to work with.

I signed up for a class at Michael and took it back in February and this is what I have learned to make.  The teacher was real nice.  It was on a Saturday afternoon, and there were only two students in the class.  We learned how to work with wire bending and the basic of assembling necklace and earrings.  This is the gemstone Amethyst, and it is the birthstone for February.

Since then I have been teaching my sister, Lee and my niece how to make necklace, bracelets and earrings. The girls are looking forward to selling theirs at the temple on Lao New Year next month, and any gross proceeds of sale I will match to donate to the temple. We spend our Saturdays at my dad’s house making jewelry. They are very proud of what they have made so far, and below is my niece choosing her beads to make her next piece.

I made some for myself also.  This one is a necklace and still have a few beads and rings to connect.

I have to say that making jewelry is very relaxing and that goes for the girls as well. This set I made for myself.  It comes with a pair of earrings but I didn’t get it done in time to take this photo.

This is a bracelet that I made for myself. We all have different taste and style when it comes to jewelry.  My sister likes silver and shiny stuff, and I like antiqued rustic copper look, and earth tone gemstone.

I took my old wooden bead necklace apart and gave it a new look by adding burnt orange round gemstones to break it up.  The old wooden bead necklace was long enough that I was able to make a pair of earrings, necklace, bracelet and even have a few beads left over.

If I have enough time I will make some to sell at the temple also.

I made this one for Lee for St. Patrick’s Day. I’m glad that I took the class, and able to share what I have learned with my sister and the girls.  The 2 hours class at Michael was $25 and well worth it.

Photos were taken with CanonT2i, EF50mm f/1.4 and EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens.

4 thoughts on “Jewerly Making Class

    • Hi Ann, it is not difficult to make once you know the mechanics of it. I like to make it myself, since I’m able to choose the exact colors and stone that I want.

  1. Your designs are pretty! I love the St. Patrick’s day necklace. It’s reminds me of spring.

    The class sounds like a good idea and it’s small too.

    Seeing your designs makes me want to take out my jewelry making kit again. I haven’t made anything in years. I used to always visit The Bead Shop in Palo Alto, CA. They also have a website and their free ideas are really nice. You might want to check it out. 😉

    http://www.beadshop.com/projects/projects

    • cn, thanks for the link. They do have pretty beads, and the videos are neat and I could certainly learn more from them. I bet it’s very relaxing visiting the bead shop. The online store is neat, but I like seeing and touching it, kind of funny in a way. 🙂

      It’s a lot of fun for us to work on it together and relaxing too.

Leave a Reply

