The Winter Flew By

The weather has been mild this year, and sadly no snow yet and I don’t expect us to get any this Winter. My garden has been neglected during the winter months and it is time to clear out the dead leaves and start planting an early Spring vegetables.

The Rosemary bush that I planted last spring has gotten a lot bigger.

The first sign of Spring in my front yard, and I have seen many Spring flowers sprouting and blooming around the neighborhood.

Ornamental cabbage

The broccoli is doing well and I’m thinking about moving the grapes and plant the broccoli along the fence area. I think the broccoli does well all year round because I have seen it survived during the hot and humid Summer months in Grandma’s garden.

My Brussels sprouts on the other hand look more like a tall cabbage. It is not doing well at all and it’s time to give up on it.

I was so hoping to see the sprouts but I guess I don’t have the right climate/soil condition to plant this.

It is also Crape Myrtle pruning time and Bo pruned them yesterday. We live in the city limit and the city sanitation truck will come and pick this up on a trash pickup day.

I received this cutting from a fellow blogger as a gift last year by mail and it has grown new leaves since then.  I’m planning to change the pot since it has outgrown this one.

This is the orchid that my sister Bee gave me last year for doing income  tax return for her.  It is that time of the year again, and I can’t say I’m look forward to it.

As for the snow, I think Lee’s present must have jinxed it.  She received a snowboarder as a Christmas present and it has been leaning against her bedroom door since.

All photos were taken with CanonT2i, EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens.

113 thoughts on “The Winter Flew By

  1. Europe had a tough winter. Maybe you can wish for some of the beautiful silent snow, but you should not wish for the low temperatures. Brrrr!
    Your first photo has a very good mood. Real fine.

    • Thanks Carsten, our part of the country has a mild Winter, and we occasionally get 1 or 2 snow falls per year. I don’t like the low temperature, nice weather and fluffy snow fall will do. 🙂

  2. It’s been cold here in Denmark the last time. And the two previous years much colder – and for a longer period. I would like to have a bit of your warmer climate here during our winter 🙂

    • truels, we have many retirees up North that live here during the winter months, but I think it is nice to live here all year round. I used to live in NYC for 13 years and I don’t miss the cold weather at all. 🙂

  3. We’ve had a mild winter so far – but still winter, you understand. There’s snow out there on this pretty sunny day, and my Plow Guy has just been here scraping my driveway. It’s lovely to see your signs of spring. Poor Lee, though. Maybe the snowboard will double as a paddleboard . . . 🙂

    • Gerry, we had some snow today but not enough for Lee to test out her snowboard, I bet it will melt by tomorrow morning. I think it will work as a paddleboard, we have plenty of creeks for her to test this out. 🙂

  4. Pingback: So this is snow « Nye Noona

  5. I do love that broccoli can be grown year around. I wonder if there are better Brussels sprouts for your area. But I wouldn’t mind cooking with the leafs. 😉

    The Epi cutting looks good, but I think the skinny leaves means it need more sunlight too. I just noticed that with a few succulents I tried to grow indoor. Eventually I gave up and left them all outside.

    • Hi Cambree, I guess the Brussels sprouts leaves are better than nothing. I might try to make Mok Kai with this, hope it doesn’t give off strange flavor and all the herbs should help. I moved the Epi cutting to get more morning sunlight but I think it is not enough. I will move it outdoor when it’s warm enough, I think 7 to 8 months of outdoor should help with the growth.

    • Thanks for your nice comment. I guess you don’t like the cold weather, I don’t care for it either, but I do like to see snowflakes during the winter. I guess that’s too much to ask. 🙂

  6. Beautiful pictures! We had so little snow here in Wisconsin this year…just today I noticed spring bulbs popping up. IN FEBRUARY!!!!! Yikes!!

  7. Hi,
    So very lovely. I stumbled on this blog. I might stop in from time if I remember. I am new to blogging and navigating. I cherish all things Etsy; nice of you to have posted Cambree Botanica handmade soaps and mentioned things naturally made vs. hand crafted which are better.

    Your gardening is lovely; a lovely book to have: Odds Lot by Thomas C. Cooper; and Blessed, living a grateful life by Ellen Michaud.

    This is what your site conveys upon viewing the floras and wordings. Just my opinion. thank you for sharing.

    • Hi seule771, thanks for your nice comment. I do love and appreciate handicraft items and learned to make things for myself now, it also helps with the day to day stress. I think you will also enjoy reading Cambree’s blog and thanks again for your visit.

      • All are lovely work. You don’t seem stressful person. You seem very control and at ease. Happy with life, it looks luxurious in fact.

        • Ainee, only if you have known me in real life. I have a very stressful and demanding job, I work 8-6 most days. The mind does need to rest and I choose hobbies that’s right for me. I have to say that gardening and blogging have helped me deal with my stress tremendously. Life is what you make of it, and photographs look better than real life. 🙂

          • Your photos are lovely. But does not depict your life; it shows your life as being easy and carefree. At least that is what comes across to me. And that you are happy to share it with the world.

            We say there is difficulty and we have children to give the world and they in turn might encounter difficulty; to me this is wrong. Since the world is so ugly and mean I don’t buy into having children to make it a better place; since it is not for the child but for the parents, it buys them time and excuse to not have to be brilliant since now their children have to be brilliant when they could not.

            I am selfish.

            • Ainee, people are more complex than what we see, it’s impossible to analyze someone’s life based on a few posts, comments and photos. Life is what you make of it and I’m actually a very happy person. I balance my work-life well.

                • Ainee, no hard feeling here. A harsh word and negative comments only bring more negativity and imagine if someone were to Google our names or blog names and see all the things we wrote on the Internet. It might come back and haunt us one day.

                  Thanks for the link and I wish you all the best.

  8. Pingback: The Winter Flew By | Infos Press

  9. I am also a bit disappointed there was no significant snow fall in North America this year, winter has never felt so lovely though 🙂

    I love your garden, everything looks so beautiful and healthy! I guess the February sun has done your veggies a lot of good. How did you get that rosemary bush to grow so big, mine dies every year 😦

    • Hi Sylvia, I have 2 rosemary bushes and the first one is about 3 year old. The one in photo is about 7 month old. They are very hardy and could stand the snow and frost and we have plenty of frosts in our area. I think our winter must be milder than yours. I actually don’t do anything with them, they must have liked the NC weather and soil. 🙂

  10. I absolutely love the picture of the Ornamental cabbage! It is gorgeous! I can do indoor plant, but the outdoor ones… I just am not a gardener, unless you want carrots spread clear across the property growing everywhere. Don’t plant carrots seeds in the wind!

    Sj

    • Hi the 777man, I’m a better gardener than indoor plant. The carrots growing everywhere in the garden would be a sight, that reminds me to plant carrots this year but I’ll make sure to plant it on a not so windy day. 🙂

  11. I guess Orchids come in all kinds of colors huh? Your land must be really fertile for you to be growing broccoli, i mean that’s the first time i ever heard something like that. You know Broccoli helps avoid cancer in your body right? So your lucky to be growing that -,o

    http://wp.me/2aAA8

    • Hi thefuture2020, Orchids are very exotic flowers and they come in different colors and shapes. The Broccoli loves the cold weather and fresh picked broccoli tastes a lot better than store bought and healthy too since it’s organic. I’m glad to hear about the health factor and will be planing more this Spring, might be this weekend. 🙂

    • Hi The Hook, I wouldn’t mind a few snowfalls, but then again I shouldn’t complain since I’m only an hour drive to the mountain, plenty of snow up there.

    • Thanks studiolightblue, it’s nice to meet you also. I’ve been blogging since 2006 and I’ve never changed the theme or banner, I do love this one. 🙂

  12. still i love the frame most than the content… ermmm… cool………. frozen biting without glove 🙂 if ihave the opportunity to play snow like kang jung sang and U jin in winter sonata MUAH!!

    • Hi sangjiwa, thanks for your visit and comment, I’m glad that I have more photos than content in this post. 🙂 I would love to play in the snow also, I do wish for a few inch of snowfall. Btw, I had to look up who is kang jung sang, nice looking fellow. 🙂

  13. Ten years ago winter in Ottawa, Ontario used to be cold and we used to get lots of snow but global warming has shown it’s presence here too. Winters are very mild and canal barely stays frozen for us to skate for months.

    • Hi Kanata Roofing, kind of surprise that it’s mild in your area also. I visited Ontario 15 years ago in the summer months, and it was cool for me. It must be global warming.

  14. Inch by inch, row by row
    Gonna make this garden grow
    All it takes is a rake and a hoe
    And a piece of fertile ground.

    Inch by inch, row by row
    Someone bless these seeds I sow
    Someone warm them from below
    Till the rain comes tumblin’ down

    Just a quote from “Garden Song”

  15. I found your blog on a random visit to WordPress. It was listed in the freshly pressed table. Kashmir, too, had a very hard winter this year. You can visit my blog for some posts/pictures related to winters we had this year. It was all snowy and cold – the coldest winter in about more than a decade in Kashmir. That was lovely!

    Where do you write from?

    • Hi w@RichAutumns, I live in NC and we normally get a few inch of snow each year, but this year has been very mild. Thanks for the link to your blog, I would love to see a snowfall like that here, we had a few in the past and it was a lot of fun playing in the snow.

    • Thanks Kathy, fresh broccoli are the best, we had it last night for dinner. I try to garden all year round, so early spring garden planting will be soon for me.

  16. Such beautiful photography throughout! A very lovely orchid too. Here on the gulf coast of Texas on the border with southwest Louisiana, we almost never experience winter, unlike my stay in northwest Arkansas.

    Good luck! Live long and prosper, lovely soul.

  17. Beautiful photos! Spring hasn’t really come yet to us, but hopefully soon. Congratulations also on correctly spelling Brussels sprouts. Spelling the word is no fun, but more fun than eating the vegetable!

    • Thanks supertamad, it’ still chilly early morning in February and unseasonable warm at this time the year that I have seen the robins out and about. You have described the first image well.

Leave a Reply

