Food for Thought

The first week of the New Year and here I am a little slow in posting, I guess the last few weeks of outdoor events have finally caught up with me. I feel a bit better today, and hope to reply to comments and visit my favorite blogs soon.

It’s obvious that one of my New Year’s resolutions is not “to loose weight” since I plan to cook more, but I do have to be active so that I won’t pack the extra pounds, I don’t need to gain either. My dad bought Cassava from the flea market last week and my sister and I made Cassava Coconut Flakes Dessert today.  This is our first time trying and I didn’t do a good job in photographing the process. We were so thrilled to see that it looks and tastes like the real dessert and it is not as hard to make as we thought.

My sister steamed the cassava battered mixed with coconut milk and sugar for 50 minutes, let it cool, cut and rolled in coconut flakes.

8 thoughts on “Food for Thought

    • Hi Kim, I love this and would buy it at the temple all the time, kind of pricey too come to think of it. I didn’t realize it is so easy to make, now I can make it and take it to the temple. 🙂

  1. Glad you’re feeling better. I’ve also been feeling sick lately and trying to stay healthy too. It’s probably the strange weather we’ve had with such warm days but freezing nights.

    As for the food, this dessert is instant happiness for me – even in pictures. It looks really good! 🙂

    • Hi Cambree, I must have jink myself for saying I’m feeling better, I actually got worse since then. I try to rest more and hope to feel better soon. The weather has been crazy here also, and glad that we don’t have snow storms like other parts of the country. I hope you are feeling better and stay warm.

    • Thanks Cambree, I’ve been cooking a lot of chicken soup with ginger lately and instead of drinking coffee I’ve switched to green tea. It seems that I have a harder time getting rid of this cold.

  2. Sorry to hear that you not are feeling well, – influenza perhaps? I´ve heard today that it is coming to Denmark in the coming weeks! 😦

    I wish you well soon.

    The dessert looks very delicious.

Leave a Reply

