Weekend Random Photos

I thought I would get to see the lunar eclipse this month, but honestly I don’t even know if it were visible in our area.  I just have a hard time converting the time that they gave on the internet, some would give the Universal time and others Pacific time, and by the time I converted to my area it is around 9:00 am on Saturday, it just doesn’t sound right.

And the Full Moon was last night.  We had a late dinner at my dad’s house and by the time I got out there the moon was rising too high to capture any scenery with the moon. Many of the houses in my dad’s neighborhood are decorated with Christmas lights.

This one was taken from his backyard, his Bradford pear tree was blocking the view.

The moon was extra bright last night. December Full moon is called the Full Cold Moon or the Full Long Nights Moon.  During this month the winter cold fastens its grip, and nights are at their longest and darkest. It is also sometimes called the Moon before Yule. The term Long Night Moon is a doubly appropriate name because the midwinter night is indeed long, and because the Moon is above the horizon for a long time. The midwinter full Moon has a high trajectory across the sky because it is opposite a low Sun. source.

My garden is bare and empty with only a few things growing at the moment.  I thought I would have more time to work in the garden but not sure where all my time went.

As you can see that Jack Frost visited my garden last night.

My broccoli finally produces some flower.

I have not figured out the Brussels sprout yet, it is leafy but no sprout.

closeup image

I don’t have much luck with my cabbages either, I turn the other way just for a few minutes and the green cabbage worms are munching on my cabbage leaves.

The birds can ice skate on the birdbath for sure.

It is a beautiful morning and the sun will melt all the frost and ice by noon.

It has been interesting to see this house built from the ground up during the mist of this economic crisis.  The view from my backyard used to be wooded and this house was completed in time for Thanksgiving.  This is a very small portion that you are seeing, it spreads out to the side and back and to think only one person lives there.

If you are into photography, this might be something fun for you to do. This month’s photo scavenger hunt from Karma’s When I Feel Like It Blog list is the following,

lights
ornament
card
frost
treat
family
Bonus: show me the winter holiday of your choice

It is due on December 30th, hope you will join in the fun.

6 thoughts on “Weekend Random Photos

  1. Beautiful pictures !

    In America, the lunar eclipse happened early at 7:45am east coast , so unfortunately for some.. its too late to see. I’m sure the west coast and the pacific saw it…. I was a little bummed!

    • lady0fdarkness, I guess not very good timing for us, but I’m glad that the full moon was very bright in our area. Perhaps I’ll have a better luck next time.

Leave a Reply

