As Good As New!

It was back in May when I was having problem with my favorite lens, the EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM lens that I used to take everywhere with me. It was the lens that I took to Laos in 2008, the only lens that I thought I would ever need. I have to admit that thinking back now I don’t take very good care of my gear, I guess they are so reliable that I didn’t think anything could go wrong. It is like driving your car without changing your oil and it broke down one day.

Back in May of this year I was shooting in Grandma’s garden and an error message #1 came up that I need to clean my lens contacts. I thought it was my camera at first, and after switching to another lens I knew it was the lens.  Instead of getting it fixed, I went and bought another lens the 17-40mm, which I used it a lot during the Summer months.  I guess I didn’t get it fix right away because I couldn’t find a reliable place and I couldn’t find anyone local. I made several phone calls and most went out of business years ago so I gave up on the idea of sending it off somewhere.

Then I had problem with my camera recently.  As I have mentioned earlier that it was my fault that I never cleaned my camera and have been shooting in very dusty locations. The Camera was an easy fix, and I was able to clean it myself.  I started looking for a place to get my lens clean again and heard about Canon Professional Services.  One problem was that the services are for members only. My cannon T2i body doesn’t exactly qualify as a professional camera body, but I thought my lens would earn enough points to get me a membership.  I registered 2 of my lens, and that qualifies me for a silver membership. I sent off my EF24-105mm lens for a repair, the closest Canon Factory Service Center is in VA.  I had a little scratch on my lens and asked them to fix that also.  I received an email a day after they received my lens and said that they could repair it for $269.  I authorized the repair and got the lens back today. It took less than 7 days to get it back, talking about excellent service. It is so nice to have my favorite lens working again, and it looks as good as new.  It also has a 6 months warranty on the repair.

My dinner, rice, deer jerky and Tum mak houng (spicy papaya salad) taken with Canon T2i, EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM lens, Manual, f/5.6, 1/2sec, ISO 100, focal length 60mm, evaluative metering, tripod mounted.

Can you tell that we like fish? This is the first shot that I took with the lens. Canon T2i, EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM lens, Manual, f/4, 1/20sec, ISO 3200, focal length 35mm, evaluative metering.

Then the real thing, the mother Jack Dempsey is protecting her newly hatched Fry in this image.

Canon T2i, EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM lens, Manual, f/4.5, 1/20sec, ISO 3200, focal length 40mm, evaluative metering.

They are hanging by the round hole and look like little tadpoles (closeup image)

Canon T2i, EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM lens, Manual, f/4.5, 1/60sec, ISO 3200, focal length 105mm, evaluative metering.

You could see it better in the video, the last part was taken with the EF24-105mm lens.

[vimeo http://vimeo.com/33319293 w=515&h=290]

Click here to view this video on YouTube

9 thoughts on “As Good As New!

  1. Fantastic images!

    BTW, how are things with you?

    Aon and I are expecting our third child–sometime in the next two weeks.

    I am off to Laos in 12 days.

    I published my fourth book–this one about Korea.

    • Hi Jeffrey, I’m doing good and I see that you have been busy. Congrats to you and Aon, this is exciting time for the family and I’m sure especially the boys. I hope you have a safe trip home and please keep us posted on the new arrival. 🙂

      Thanks for letting me know about your book, I’ve to get a copy.

  2. Wow!!! $269 sounds a lot at first but it is not. Considering the original price of that lens is over $1000.

    I only have one lens now and hope to add one to collection by next summer. I have to save up some $$$.

    • Hi seeharhed, it has been a good investment on this lens. I wish I had it at the VA temple in July, having to switch back and forth between the 17-40mm and the 70-200mm is not a lot of fun. This lens is in between and does a good job for traveling. I also like it because it is heavy, I guess I’m used to it and I have a better control when shooting video. I’ll be using it all the time now. 🙂

    • Hi lady0fdarkness, she is a good mother and has been busy caring for her second batch of Fry.

      As for Biltmore, you must visit if you are in the area. 🙂

  3. Glad to hear your lens are as good as new. Sounds like the folks at Canon make good cameras and provide great customer service 🙂

    Mama Jackie Dempsey is having another batch of eggs already. Is Bo feeding her super fish food? JK.

    • Hi Cambree, we have another 30 gallon tank up now for the daddy Jack Dempsey, our house sounds like a waterfall. 🙂

      The newly hatched Fry are so cute schooling with the mother Jack Dempsey, it’s a lot of work for Bo. He gave some baby fish away, sold some to the local fish store and it still didn’t put a dent on his fish in the big tank. He might have to dig a new pond outside just for his Jack Dempsey.

Leave a Reply

