North Carolina Hmong New Year 2011-2012

[vimeo http://vimeo.com/32725117 w=515&h=290]

Click here to view this video on YouTube

Hmong New Year celebration falls on the week of Thanksgiving in North Carolina, we went on the third day (Saturday) and they had a good turnout.  This is the first time my dad attended the event with us and senior citizens over the age of 65 get in for free, so my dad didn’t have to pay.  The ticket is $3 per person and Sunday is the last day.

When we got there my camera acted kind of funny, I think it was dirty.  I tried to clean the body and lens the best that I could without having a proper cleaning kit. It worked for awhile and kept quitting on me, the strange thing was that the video feature worked just fine. This is the first time I came back from an event with a handful of photos. I manually cleaned the camera sensor when I got home, and it seems to work for now.

Lee in her Hmong outfit.

I ran into Mozemoua on my way out, I didn’t know at the time if my camera would take this picture.  I’m glad it did and turned out okay. I was glad to see her again, I met her for the first time last year at the Hmong New Year. She had made the Hmong outfit for Lee.

This must be new fashion, I asked to take her photo and she was more than happy to pose for me.

He also wanted his picture taken.

I posted this information last year. During the Hmong New Year celebration, the Hmong ball tossing game pov pob is a common activity for adolescents, but I noticed that older couples also play this game as well. Boys and girls form two separate lines in pairs that are directly facing one another. Girls can ball toss with other girls or boys, but boys cannot ball toss with other boys. It is also taboo to toss the ball to someone of the same clan. The pairs toss a cloth ball back and forth, until one member drops the ball. If a player drops or misses the ball, an ornament or item is given to the opposite player in the pair. Ornaments are recovered by singing love songs (hais kwv txhiaj) to the opposite player. (Source and to read more about the Hmong New Year) I’m not sure if the gifts and the singing of love songs are still practiced in America.

We bought some fresh fruits on the way out.

8 thoughts on “North Carolina Hmong New Year 2011-2012

    • lady0fdarkness, there were plenty of good foods, Lee bought her favorite dessert fried bananas and it was made different from the one at our local temple. She loves this version also.

      It was nice to run into Mozemoua again this year, she had her back turned toward me and I recognized her sister right away. I’m glad she still dressed in her Hmong outfit this year. 🙂

    • Cambree, I was impressed to see so many young people dressed in their traditional attire. I do love her outfit, and wish that I had a better shot, there’s always next year. 🙂

  1. haha. the tradition of pov pob isn’t really practiced in modern day America.
    but then again it depends on the two that is ball tossing, whether or not if they want to exchange items.

    • mzbutter, thanks for your comment and visit. I think if that person that they are tossing the ball with is special enough, they wouldn’t mind giving the gifts. I would love to see that in person. 🙂

  2. Nye, I am very glad to see you and Lee again! She looked great! I haven’t been able to put up my photos from the NC New Year, but as soon as I can I will. It’s been a very busy week, I hope to be able to put it up soon!

    • Hi mozemoua, I’m glad that you didn’t change yet, hopefully next year I will be able to make Lee a new Hmong outfit from your tutorial. My dad and sister came with us this year, they said that they could hear the new year music from their neighborhood. I guess they live a lot closer than I thought. Looking forward to seeing you again next year. 🙂

Leave a Reply

