Best Photos of 2011

This is my contribution to Scott’s Assignment 16: Best Photos of 2011.  For this assignment Scott is asking us to submit our best photos taken in the last twelve (12) months or from November 1, 2010 to October 31, 2011. The deadline is November 16, 2011 and I hope you will join in the fun.

This was taken 2 days before the cutoff date, October 30, 2010.  This is my favorite animal photo.  What I like best about this image is the autumn colors in the background, and the soft evening lighting brings out the soft fluffy feathers of the Americana peep.

Canon T2i, EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens, Aperture Priority, f/4, 1/200sec, ISO 250, Exposure bias -0.3step, focal length 145mm, evaluative metering

My favorite portrait photo was taken on November 27, 2010 of my niece dressed in a Hmong outfit.

Canon T2i, EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens, Aperture Priority, f/4, 1/100sec, ISO 100, Exposure bias 0 step, focal length 90mm, cropped, evaluative metering

My favorite moon shot was taken on December 20, 2010 at 8:27 pm (20:27).  I’ve never seen a blue sky this late at night in December and there was a lunar eclipse later that night.

Canon T2i, EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/5.6, 1/4sec, ISO 100, focal length 163mm, spot metering, closeup cropped, tripod mounted

The next two are my favorite photos from our Disney trip.  The one below is a street performance taken on December 24, 2010 at Disney’s Epcot. This is a very busy image but I think the background image was clear enough to see that the audience’s attention was on the subject.

Canon T2i, EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM lens, Manual, f/5.6, 1/50sec, ISO 100, focal length 92mm, evaluative metering

The night parade at Disney’s Magic Kingdom was taken on Christmas Day, December 25, 2010. I didn’t have my tripod with me and the image came out a lot better than I had hoped for, so the 2 hours of waiting on the curb was well worth it.

Canon T2i, EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM lens, Aperture Priority, f/5.6, 1/20sec, ISO 3200, focal length 45mm, exposure bias -0.3step, evaluative metering, hand held

My favorite nature photo was taken on April 23, 2011, I love the colors and detail in this picture.

Canon T2i, EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens, Aperture Priority, f/5.6, 1/200sec, ISO 400, focal length 168mm, exposure bias -0.3step, evaluative metering

My favorite sporting event photo was taken on September 25, 2011 at the Hickory Motor Speedway, I think this image captured victory.

Canon T2i, EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/32, 1/40sec, ISO 400, focal length 154, evaluative metering

My favorite image of Lee was taken on October 15, 2011.  I like the composition of this image, even with the young man on the left hand side showing only half of his face.  I think this didn’t take away from the image but leading your eyes to Lee as the focal point.

Canon T2i, EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens, AV, f/5.6, 1/250sec, ISO 200, focal length 200mm, exposure bias 0step, evaluative metering

The last image for my favorite photos was taken on October 23, 2011 at our local temple, Wat Greensboro.  I think what makes this picture special to me is to see the joy in people’s faces when I give them the print copy of their pictures.  I started doing this several years back.  It started out with one little girl at the temple, and now my list has expanded to several and yet I don’t know their name, just their faces. I think photography to me is not just being able to capture images, but also being able to give back to the community.

Canon T2i, EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens, Aperture Priority, f/5.6, 1/200sec, ISO 200, focal length 126mm, exposure bias 0 step, evaluative metering

23 thoughts on “Best Photos of 2011

  1. You have a really nice way with portraits – the picture of your niece is especially nice, with the thoughtful gaze, the interesting colors, and the bokeh background. Thanks for sharing!

    • Thanks Kathy, my niece is photogenic and loves to be photographed. This has been a good year for me in terms of learning new skills and thanks to the assignments from Scott and photo hunt from Karma that makes photography so much fun.

  2. I have lots of favorite photos from your blog… it would be too long to list. 😉

    I love that your subjects vary from plants to animals, children and places. And many other subjects are nice too. Thanks for sharing.

    • Thanks Cambree, it’s very difficult to pick only a few when I have a long list also. I think photography subject tells a lot about a person, I guess I’m so random sometimes. 🙂

  3. I’m sure you have so many pictures to choose from… Must be a tough decision to select the final set. I really like the first picture a lot, probably because it reminds me of my childhood.

    • Hi Geni, it took me a while to go through all of them and I actually have more but I know I couldn’t post all of them. I picked 9 for lucky number. 🙂

  4. Nice collection Nye! Great variety. The portrait of Lee is stunning! And I just love the light on the peep. I’d never heard of this type of bird – is it some kind of chicken?

  5. It is a pleasure to browse through your posts Nye. You take many beautiful photos of Lee – this is certainly no exception.
    I like the nature shot too with the fine light in the water on red leaves. Very good!

  6. Pingback: Assignment 16 Recap | Views Infinitum

Leave a Reply

