Hickory Oktoberfest 2011

Wilkommen is welcome for German, we attended the Hickory Oktoberfest last Saturday.

The  weather was real nice, we got there early so the crowds were thin at this time. I just want to mention that Karma’s October photo hunt is to make pictures of idioms, check out her post for more detail.

I’m amazed in the size of the turkey legs, and people would walk around eating it like it was nothing.  I don’t know if it were just the Southern thing, they were selling it in Disney when we were there last December.

The leaves start to change colors in our area, I bet it’s prettier in the mountains.

My niece got motion sickness after 1 ride, and this must have been the 5th rides for Lee.

The Pavilion Stage features live musical performances.

Fine Crafts on Union Square

The girls went there to buy the dream-catcher.  It is used as a charm to protect sleeping children from nightmares, but Lee is using it to catch good dreams.  She has been collecting it for several years now and has several dream catchers in her collection.

My niece went with us this year, and bought a feather for her hair.  I think $10 is kind of pricey for 1 feather and it seems that everything has gone up this year. They used up all their chores money in no time.

Lee blends in with the abstract arts well. This is actually her Halloween outfit that she is wearing, minus her punk-rock wig.

We stopped by the Habitat’s ReStore resale outlets that recently opened in our area.  They sell reusable and surplus building materials to the public.  My sister and I were standing there waiting for Lee while she was playing the piano and the rocking chair at the bottom right hand corner starts to rock back and forth.  My sister called me to look and sure enough it rocked back and forth like someone was sitting there and rocking it.  It must have rocked for 30 seconds, my sister thinks who ever sat there must have liked Lee’s music.

You be the judge, she said her dad told her she is talented.  I think I need to send her to a music school. 😉

Click here to view this video on YouTube

I will post the exif data when I have more time.

18 thoughts on “Hickory Oktoberfest 2011

  1. I think you need to ask the city of Hickory to add lao word to that sign like…”yin dee ton hub” 🙂

    The weather looks awesome for this time of the year in Hickory. I been looking for cheap round trip tickets to NC, I like to visit my buddy before the end of year.

    • Hi seeharhed, there are wordings on the other side also, but no Lao. 😦

      I think the leaves will peak in the next 2 weekends, not sure if I’ll get to go since we have events at the temple. October will be a good month to visit since the weather is still very mild.

  2. Thanks so much for helping spread the word about the photo hunt!
    Looks like a great time was had at the fair. Those hair feathers are popping up everywhere. I think $10 was the price at our state fair. My daughters just bought hair feathers at their school – it was being done as a fundraiser for the Jimmy Fund or the American Cancer Society, which I thought was really nice.

    • You are welcome Karma, the photo hunt will be very difficult and fun. Lee got her feather at the apple festival several weeks back for only $6, and I think it was 2 for $10. The one at your daughter’s school sounds nice, a fun way to raise money for the kids.

    • Hi Mel, I’m doing good,thanks. I got dizzy doing panning also, my niece got motion sickness from this one. Lee did well, kind of surprise me for someone that is afraid of heights.

    • Hi salalao, I don’t drink so I didn’t go near the beer garden. I’m sure it’s a treat for beer lovers. 🙂

      The feather was a lot of fun for the girls, I think they need to set up a feather booth at the temple.

    • Hi truels, I’m sure our version is nothing like the one in your hometown. They actually have ethnic foods here also, like the Thai and Southern foods. It sounds to me like the German community need to give a guideline and restriction to German food only. They had a beer garden but since I don’t drink I didn’t go near the area, so no photo of the beer.

    • Hi truels, I’m sure our version is nothing like the one in your hometown. They actually have ethnic foods here also, like the Thai and Southern foods. It sounds to me like the German community need to give a guideline and restriction to German food only. They had a beer garden but since I don’t drink I didn’t go near the area, so no photo of the beer.

  3. I have never seen anyone here walk around eating a giant turkey leg. Maybe KFC, but not turkey legs. 🙂

    Lee’s rock star look blends right into the abstract art. Nice photos!

    • Thanks Cambree, the turkey legs were huge, when I saw it at Disney I thought it could feed my whole family, all we need is sticky rice and tum mak houng. 🙂

  4. Pingback: Hickory Oktoberfest 2012 « Nye Noona

Leave a Reply

