The Great Outdoors

Such small grill you might think.  Bo is testing it out to see if it will work for our next camping trip.

Canon T2i, EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/4, 1/250sec, ISO 400, focal length 73mm, evaluative metering

It’s not cooking fast enough, and our dinner wasn’t done until 7:45 pm  (19:45).  I think he might have to add some charcoal to speed things up.

Canon T2i, EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/5.6, 1/50sec, ISO 400, focal length 70mm, evaluative metering

Lee is enjoy roasting her marshmallow. That’s one thing she is looking forward to camping.

Canon T2i, EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/5.6, 1/50sec, ISO 400, focal length 159mm, evaluative metering

And we had grilled shrimp, chicken and mushrooms for dinner.

Canon T2i, EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/5.6, 1/160sec, ISO 400, focal length 200mm, evaluative metering

My garden is still very colorful in comparison to my dad’s garden.

Canon T2i, EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/4, 1/200sec, ISO 400, focal length 109mm, evaluative metering

The Brussels sprouts are thriving in the hot and humid NC weather.

Canon T2i, EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/6.3, 1/80sec, ISO 400, focal length 70mm, evaluative metering

My Thai eggplants are abundance and beautiful this year.

Canon T2i, EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/6.3, 1/160sec, ISO 400, focal length 70mm, evaluative metering

After cutting back the overgrown mints last month, they start to grow back again.

Canon T2i, EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/4, 1/250sec, ISO 400, focal length 180mm, evaluative metering

I spotted a frog hanging out by the bridge.  S/he even turn around to pose for me.

Canon T2i, EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/5.6, 1/160sec, ISO 200, focal length 200mm, evaluative metering

13 thoughts on “The Great Outdoors

  1. Hurricane Irene hasn’t hamper your camping plans? Roasted marshmallow, that is a treat.

    I wonder if the Brussels Sprout leaves and stalk are any good eaten lightly sauteed or steam. If not so bitter I would eat them. 😉

    • Hi Cambree, it will be interesting to see what kind of damage she has done. I called the campsite and they open business as usual and we are ready. Bo said my dad is doing all kind of stuff to make sure the tent is secured, it will be interesting to see what it looks like now. 🙂

      The Brussels Sprout leaves look so tough and so hard to grow, I think I’ll just leave it on the bush to admire the beauty of it. 🙂

  2. Those grilled shrimps and chickens look great. It is good idea to test out all your equipments before heading out for long weekend. I think my brother have similar grill.

  3. Aww, spending some family quality time right on your own backyard is the most memorable moments. I agree with seeharhed, those shrimps and chickens sure look good that got me craving for some grill food again. It’ll be so adorable to see your daughter Lee to have a little sister or brother playing with her 😉

    • Lala, we eat grilled a lot but mostly indoor cooking. It doesn’t look like Lee will have another brother, as for now she has Max (our dog) and fish as her brothers and sisters. 🙂

  4. Your garden looks fine. The chili is different from the ones I know. Upright and with many colors.
    I notice that Lee is growing fast. Strange that we do not get older?
    😉
    Why can’t I comment on your posts as usual? Now I had to log in with my facebook account.

    • Carsten, I had another commenter that asked me the same thing. I think WP change their format, it used to be that you have to put your name first, then email address and they have turned that around and ask for your email address first, then name on the second line. We are so used to putting our name first and didn’t think to look, please let me know if this is the case.

      I know what you mean, I don’t feel that I get any older too and pretty soon she’ll be as tall as me. 🙂 I didn’t realize that my chili peppers look odd, they do stickup and I’m not sure why. 🙂

  5. I wish we have your weather over here. It must be cold over where you at. Bo is wearing pants and long sleeve shirt and Lee is covering herself with a blanket. 😉

Leave a Reply

