One if by Land, Two if by Sea

Lee has been following the path of hurricane Irene and when the floor started to move on Tuesday afternoon, I glanced at my clock and it was 1:55pm and my chair started to rock back and forth.  I thought to myself that it was too soon for it to be Irene, we are not expecting her until this Saturday.

I was at work when the earthquake with a preliminary magnitude of 5.8 struck Tuesday in the Virginia and Washington DC area and sent shock waves up and down the East Coast and we felt the tremors in North Carolina. This is my first time experiencing an earthquake and it was a very strange feeling.  It happened so fast and things were moving, one of my co-workers thought he was fainting.  Another co-worker out in the plant was holding on to his machine because he thought it was moving.  I’m sure it wasn’t funny at the time, but we all laughed about it afterward.

Canon T2i, EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens, Aperture Priority, f/5.6, 1/640sec, ISO 800, focal length 91mm, evaluative metering

This is going to be a very strange week, I hope Irene will be kinder to us.

Canon T2i, EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens, Aperture Priority, f/5.6, 1/1250sec, ISO 3200, exposure bias -0.3step, focal length 184mm, evaluative metering

2 thoughts on “One if by Land, Two if by Sea

  1. Glad to hear you are OK. Hope Irene doesn’t do much damage this weekend. Make sure you and the family are prepared with food, water, radio and candles.

    Earthquakes don’t last long here, but when it happens it does feel like time stood still. The last one I felt was a long time ago and it was like the whole Earth was moving. Don’t want to go thru that again. 😉

    • Hi Cambree, with you being in CA, I’m surprised you didn’t experience more earthquake than that. Irene path has shifted and it doesn’t look like the Hickory area is in her path anymore, I just hope she doesn’t do much damage to our NC beach area.

Leave a Reply

