Summer Rainbow of Colors

This is my contribution to Karma’s August Photo Scavenger Hunt. Karma is not asking for any specific photo this time, but she is looking for a photo for each of the prominent rainbow colors: red, orange, yellow, green, blue and purple.  Each photo should show something specific to summertime. Bonus: a self-portrait of you in the summertime!

I want to start off with Summertime Vacation. We spent a couple of days vacationing at Virginia Beach.  I would never have thought to get up early to wait for the light but here I did. It’s definitely worth it, a beautiful golden orange sunrise during golden hour.

Canon T2i, EF 17-40mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/8, 1/1600sec, ISO 400, focal length 29mm, evaluative metering

After we got back, there were plenty ripped orange cherry tomatoes.

Canon T2i, EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/5.6, 1/80sec, ISO 400, focal length 168mm, evaluative metering

My first red chili pepper, note to self August 3, 2011.

Canon T2i, EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/5.6, 1/80sec, ISO 400, focal length 200mm, cropped, evaluative metering

A yellow black-eyed Susan flower.

Canon T2i, EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/4, 1/60sec, ISO 800, focal length 163mm, cropped, evaluative metering

A Late evening visit by a green hummingbird.

Canon T2i, EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/4, 1/200sec, ISO 800, focal length 200mm, evaluative metering

It is green and here is a closeup image.

Canon T2i, EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/4, 1/125sec, ISO 800, focal length 200mm, closeup cropped, evaluative metering

Purple passion flower.

Canon T2i, EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/4, 1/80sec, ISO 800, focal length 200mm, evaluative metering

Canon T2i, EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/4, 1/80sec, ISO 800, focal length 200mm, evaluative metering

I waited for the sun to set, and here is the blue sky during the blue hour. The blue hour comes from the French expression l’heure bleue, which refers to the period of twilight each morning and evening where there is neither full daylight nor complete darkness. The time is considered special because of the quality of light at this time of day.

Canon T2i, EF 17-40mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/16, 13sec, ISO 100, focal length 28mm, evaluative metering, tripod mounted

Canon T2i, EF 17-40mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/16, 15sec, ISO 100, focal length 29mm, evaluative metering, tripod mounted

As for the bonus, a self-portrait of myself in the summertime.  It’s not the easiest task and I had a little help from my tripod and remote control. I know I must have looked funny to my neighbors if they happened to see me, I was walking back and forth several times. And here is a self-portrait of a gardener.

Canon T2i, EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/5.6, 1/400sec, ISO 400, focal length 70mm, evaluative metering, remote control, tripod mounted

I started my photo hunt early since I have other projects I’m working on.  The due date is August 28, 2011. I hope you will join, would love to see your portrait, I mean your summertime photos. 🙂

23 thoughts on “Summer Rainbow of Colors

  1. A truly beautiful series of photos Nye! That hummingbird photo is neat, I just he looks to be interested in something nearby.

    And you look perfectly content in your garden. Love your blouse, it looks very light and cool. 🙂

    • Thanks Cambree, I work out there a lot this summer, it is extremely hot and humid and good thing that my garden has shady spot to rest. I don’t wear that blouse to work in my garden btw, t-shirt and jeans is my typical outfit but wouldn’t look very good in picture. 🙂

    • seeharhed, people post their photos all the time, not sure why it’s so hard for bloggers to post their photos . I hope you will join the assignment, it’s a good learning experience. 🙂

  2. I´ll repeat Seeharhed, finally a photo of you after all these years, – a beautiful one. Very nice.
    One reason that we don´t post portraits of ourself so often, is probably that we don´t have any, as we are the ones with the cameras. Selfportraits are of course a way to solve that problem, but one has to have a reason, like you had with the scavenger hunt assignment. One can easily feel a bit silly to pose for …oneself. 🙂

    • Hi Giiid, thanks for the compliment about my photo, 🙂 I do feel silly posing for myself and try to look friendly as you have mentioned in your last portrait for Scott’s Assignment. I’m glad I have the remote control, otherwise I would look like a mad woman having to running back and forth to beat the timing. It was extremely hot and humid on that day also. That’s one bad thing about owning a camera, you don’t have many photos of yourself, only photos of others.

  3. You can steam the young leaves and stem of the passion flower. Mom does it here every week. The flower can be dried and made into tea. But be careful with the tea, some say it’s an aphrodisiac.

    Once again, very nicely done. You have a gift with that ‘picture capturing device.’

    • Hi PaNoy, thanks for the nice comment. 🙂

      The passion flowers spread so rapidly, it’s good to know that they are eatable. I’m thinking about moving them to the string bean trellis, this will give them plenty space to climb.

  4. I love it Nye, you did a beautiful job with a very lovely array of summertime photos! The self-portrait is wonderful – perfect to see you in the garden!

    • Thanks Karma, I had fun doing it and this time we had more freedom to select the theme of our choice. As for me the garden is definitely the right one. 🙂

  5. When I first saw your sunrise I immediately went to a very similar shot I have hanging on my wall at home. And thought, “silly girl – there are sunrises all over the world – it’s not likely yours and hers are the same.” Except they are – mine is from our trip to VA Beach in June 2010. So it got me to wondering – are sunrises different in different areas or is one ocean sunrise pretty much the same as another (though all are gorgeous).

    • Hi mylifeincny, I guess our VA Sunrise Beach photos have the same view but I would think that it should look slightly different since we would be taking it from a different angle, unless if you took it from from the 5th floor hotel like me. 🙂 I have to admit that sunrise photo is nothing comparing to seeing the real sunrise, there is something magical about that moment when everything is so nice and calm and the sky is so beautiful.

  6. Pingback: August Photo Hunt Wrap-Up « Karma's When I Feel Like It Blog

    • Dawn, the actual sky didn’t look this blue but I’m so glad that the blue hour exists and I didn’t have to use filter or Photoshop to get this deep blue color. This came straight out from the camera which is very neat.

Leave a Reply

