My Garden July 23, 2011

I got up early Saturday morning to wait for the morning sunlight, this was taken at 7am.

Canon T2i, EF 17-40mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/13, 1/10sec, ISO 400, focal length 17mm, evaluative metering

Canon T2i, EF 17-40mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/13, 1/10sec, ISO 400, focal length 17mm, evaluative metering

My garden is doing very well in comparison to this time last year especially the Thai eggplants.

Canon T2i, EF 17-40mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/8, 1/20sec, ISO 400, focal length 24mm, evaluative metering

They just don’t bear the fruit fast enough, My dad gave me some from this garden.

Canon T2i, EF 17-40mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/5.6, 1/100sec, ISO 400, focal length 40mm, evaluative metering

I’ve been eating the chili peppers and they are not as hot yet, but very tasty.

Canon T2i, EF 17-40mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/5.6, 1/40sec, ISO 400, focal length 30mm, evaluative metering

Canon T2i, EF 17-40mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/5.6, 1/60sec, ISO 400, focal length 34mm, evaluative metering

The cherry tomato plants are showing sign of aging, some of the leaves are dying and drying out.  I still get plenty of tomatoes, and not to mention some from my dad’s garden.

Canon T2i, EF 17-40mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/5.6, 1/60sec, ISO 400, focal length 35mm, evaluative metering

The pickling cucumber plants are also mature.

Canon T2i, EF 17-40mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/8, 1/30sec, ISO 400, focal length 28mm, evaluative metering

I still get the cucumber but not as abundance as last month.

Canon T2i, EF 17-40mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/5.6, 1/100sec, ISO 400, focal length 34mm, evaluative metering

The Brussels sprouts are thriving in the hot and humid weather of North Carolina.

Canon T2i, EF 17-40mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/5.6, 1/60sec, ISO 400, focal length 36mm, evaluative metering

A lot of caring for them and if not spot check on a regular basis, they could be gone within days.  It’s one of the plants that cabbage worms love to munch on.

Canon T2i, EF 17-40mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/5.6, 1/100sec, ISO 400, focal length 32mm, evaluative metering

My cabbages are not doing too bad growing in pots, but I think it would be more ideal to grown them in the garden.

Canon T2i, EF 17-40mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/4, 1/160sec, ISO 400, focal length 40mm, evaluative metering

Sunflower

Canon T2i, EF 17-40mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/4, 1/160sec, ISO 400, focal length 40mm, evaluative metering

Lee’s flowers next to her swing.  Her roses in the background are doing well also, this is the third set of blooms this year. The trick is to prune dead-heading to encourage new flowers and you will have blooms until the first frost in early winter.

Canon T2i, EF 17-40mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/4, 1/160sec, ISO 400, focal length 40mm, evaluative metering

10 thoughts on “My Garden July 23, 2011

  1. Wow.. you are early bird 🙂 I usually get up around 9:30 or 10am during the weekend. I take the term sleeping in to another level..hahahha Even though it is still early in the morning, there are just enough light for great shots. I really like that shot of cucumber.

    • seeharhed, I think I like the morning sunlight better than the evening light and if I have waited an hour later then I wouldn’t get the golden light that you see here. I guess that’s why they call it golden hour. I’m a morning person, so getting up in the morning is no problem for me, I don’t sleep that much anyway.

  2. Glad to see the eggplants are doing well. I think your organic pest control may have helped. Sorry to hear the Brussels Sprouts require so much attention. But of course you are such a dedicated gardener tending to her plants and it shows!

    Btw, do you ever cook with the banana leaves? My mom loves to use it wrap the food and steam it (much better than aluminum wrapper). It really adds to the flavor of the food.

    • Cambree, I’ve not cooked with my banana leaves yet, I only have one plant and might wait till close to fall. My dad has plenty and I could get some from him, it does taste better than using aluminum foil and it has a nice aroma also. The organic pesticide does well, I think I planted the Thai eggplants too close together. It has never gotten this big before so there were no problem in the past. I have to find a way to utilize my garden space better.

    • lady0fdarkness, homegrown fresh herbs and vegetables are the best and I’ve been enjoying cooking with them this summer. Absolutely delicious. 🙂

    • Thanks Dallas, the weather has been very kind to us this year. I couldn’t take all the credit, Bo and Lee have helped with the grass and gardening.

Leave a Reply

