My Dad’s Garden June 25, 2011

Click here to view this video on YouTube

My sister Bee came by with vegetables from her garden.

Canon T2i, EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/5.6, 1/2sec, ISO 100, focal length 81mm, evaluative metering, tripod mounted

I couldn’t resist and made Tum Mak Tang (Spicy cucumber salad) for lunch, freshly picked cucumbers, peppers, and tomatoes are the best.  It’s great with grilled chicken breast and Jasmine rice.

Canon T2i, EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/5.6, 1/13sec, ISO 100, focal length 98mm, evaluative metering, tripod mounted

I like to chop my cucumber freestyle, the papaya scraper/shredder makes the cucumber too fine and mushy looking to me.

Canon T2i, EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/5.6, 1/10sec, ISO 100, focal length 122mm, evaluative metering, tripod mounted

I like to use my telephoto lens to shoot video and photograph the garden.  It compresses the background and makes everything looks nice and tidy. The only problem is having to step far back and I’m ending up in the neighbor’s yard and luckily my dad doesn’t have a fence.

My dad’s garden gets plenty of water, and the rains make things grow 10 times faster than normal in my opinion.

Canon T2i, EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/5.6, 1/125sec, ISO 400, focal length 70mm, evaluative metering

The bottom left are Thai chili peppers, and right are Thai eggplants.

Canon T2i, EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/16, 1/10sec, ISO 200, focal length 70mm, evaluative metering

The big ones are spicy already. I added 5 peppers in my Tum Mak Tang yesterday and it’s very spicy.

Canon T2i, EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/5.6, 1/100sec, ISO 400, focal length 200mm, evaluative metering

I love Thai eggplant and even like to add this to any types of Tum (Spicy salad).

Canon T2i, EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/8, 1/30sec, ISO 400, focal length 200mm, evaluative metering

Canon T2i, EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/4, 1/160sec, ISO 400, focal length 200mm, evaluative metering

My string beans are still knee-high and his already touch the sky.

Canon T2i, EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/8, 1/60sec, ISO 400, focal length 70mm, evaluative metering

Canon T2i, EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/8, 1/50sec, ISO 400, focal length 70mm, evaluative metering

He has long string beans already, just in time for my sisters’ visit.

Canon T2i, EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f8, 1/30sec, ISO 400, focal length 91mm, evaluative metering

His backyard sits on a hill, I wonder what his neighbors think of his garden.

Canon T2i, EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/8, 1/50sec, ISO 400, focal length 78mm, evaluative metering

My dad planted the regular cucumber this year.  They do need plenty of water, and from the looks of it they got plenty.

Canon T2i, EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/4, 1/40sec, ISO 400, focal length 70mm, evaluative metering

The Asian corns.

Canon T2i, EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/8, 1/40sec, ISO 400, focal length 70mm, evaluative metering

Tassels

Canon T2i, EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/6.3, 1/80sec, ISO 400, focal length 135mm, evaluative metering

The corns are very healthy this year, some stalks have 3 ears of corn.

Canon T2i, EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/4, 1/160sec, ISO 400, focal length 200mm, evaluative metering

I think this is a pumpkin.

Canon T2i, EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/4, 1/160sec, ISO 400, focal length 70mm, evaluative metering

Pear

Canon T2i, EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/4, 1/200sec, ISO 400, focal length 180mm, evaluative metering

Crab apple

Canon T2i, EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/4, 1/250sec, ISO 400, focal length 135mm, evaluative metering

Jasmin flower

Canon T2i, EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/4, 1/250sec, ISO 400, focal length 200mm, evaluative metering

Water hyacinth

Canon T2i, EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/4, 1/200sec, ISO 400, focal length 98mm, evaluative metering

My mom’s orchid is still blooming.  By the time I got inside to take this picture it was dusk, not enough natural lightning. I played outside too long.

Canon T2i, EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/8, 1/2sec, ISO 400, focal length 200mm, spot metering, cropped, tripod mounted

14 thoughts on “My Dad’s Garden June 25, 2011

  1. This post made my mouth water! Mrs S recognised most of the veg that you’ve showed us here today.
    Thanks for this excellent and fascinating look at your home produce.

    All the best, Boonie

    • Thanks Boonie, it’s great to be able to grow our own vegetables in the Summer, saves a lot on the grocery bill. It’s more ideal in Thailand thought, the growing season is a lot longer than here.

    • Hi seeharhed, I like Tum Mark Tang but my favorite is Tum string bean with Thai eggplant, I should make one today at my dad’s house, he has a few ready to be picked. I hope my sisters don’t get to it before me. 🙂

      • I am all for the cucumber but my mom prefers the string beans more. Besides adding Thai eggplant, have you add Thai basil? It makes it so much better!

        As for the cucumbers, I prefer using the shredder because it’s quick and easy. But I’m sure you can freestyle just as fast. 🙂

        • Hi Cambree, I have not tried the Thai basil with it, but have added the saw-leaf herb or pak chi farang and it compliments the Tum well. I notice in Laos that they like to freestyle shredding their papaya and I think it made it tastes better, or perhaps it’s just a psychological thing. 🙂

    • Hi Jeffrey, it’s a lot of fresh vegetables during this time to the year, so we eat a lot healthier. We occasionally get the benefit of the rains, and it made things grow faster, there must be something in the water.

    • Thanks Rufus for your visit, it’s weekly garden update this time of the year for me. My dad still has more room in his garden, and I don’t have much space in my garden but there is so much you could do in a tiny space.

    • Hi Geni, thanks for the mention about my blog. I did a lot of research before I start my garden, and I think there’s a gardener in all of us. We just need to remember that plants need love and nurturing also. 🙂

      Ingredients for Spicy cucumber salad: shredded cucumbers, cherry tomatoes, chili peppers, 1 sliced lime, 1 garlic cove, 1 teaspoon brown sugar, a small portion of shrimp paste, and add fish sauce for taste as needed. It’s prepared the same way as the spicy papaya salad, here is a video.

Leave a Reply

