My Garden June 24, 2011

[vimeo http://vimeo.com/25583992 w=515&h=290]

Click here to view this video on YouTube

I didn’t get to visit the rice paddy yesterday and not sure when I’ll get to visit again since my sisters are visiting next week.  I might be slow in updating my blog post for a week or so.

I normally make my routine check in my garden in the morning, and yesterday’s morning lighting was real nice.  It’s the golden hour and I have to be at work by 8am, not much time to do video and photograph the garden.  I did what I could, and some of the photos were taken in the evening like the one below.

Canon T2i, EF 17-40mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/11, 1/50sec, ISO 400, focal length 17mm, evaluative metering

Also this one, I would be lying to you if I said I took it in the morning since the passion flowers that I have don’t open in the morning.  I’ve only seen it open in the afternoon and evening, and this photo was taken around 6:30pm (18:80).

Canon T2i, EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/5.6, 1/500sec, ISO 400, focal length 200mm, cropped, evaluative metering

At 7:00 in the morning the garden is real calm. I could hear the water from the pond a lot louder and birds chirping.  It’s not the typical summer sounds of lawnmower, weed eater, and construction workers hammering away.

Canon T2i, EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/4, 1/40sec, ISO 200, focal length 73mm, evaluative metering

I still have some problems with the black bugs but they are far and few in between.

Canon T2i, EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/4, 1/80sec, ISO 200, focal length 200mm, cropped, evaluative metering

I’ve been getting many cucumbers daily, and even brought some to my co-workers the other day.  Max loves it also.

Canon T2i, EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/4, 1/125sec, ISO 400, focal length 154mm, evaluative metering

This kind of look like a stink bug, but not sure about the long hind legs.

Canon T2i, EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/4, 1/80sec, ISO 200, focal length 200mm, evaluative metering

Canon T2i, EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/4, 1/160sec, ISO 400, focal length 70mm, evaluative metering

My Thai chili peppers are growing at a slower rate than the ones in my dad’s garden.

Canon T2i, EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/4, 1/200sec, ISO 400, focal length 73mm, evaluative metering

Canon T2i, EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/4, 1/160sec, ISO 400, focal length 104mm, evaluative metering

These are so expensive in the store so I’m glad to see some ripe ones.

Canon T2i, EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/4, 1/100sec, ISO 400, focal length 200mm, evaluative metering

I don’t know when this happened, between the birds and I checking on a regular basis I found a few green worms munching on the leaves. I saw a  white butterfly fluttering around the area a week ago but didn’t think much of it, that’s should have been the first sign, which I didn’t realize. Hand picking is my method of choice for these green cabbage worms for now, and I’m spraying it with mint juice to see if this will work also, otherwise I will have to find a better solution for my Brussels sprouts soon. 

Canon T2i, EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/5.6, 1/250sec, ISO 400, focal length 70mm, evaluative metering

I planted the Thai and sweet basils next to it. I should have planted the mint, rosemary or thyme instead. I still have some room, so I’m planting the mint this evening.

Canon T2i, EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/4, 1/80sec, ISO 400, focal length 91mm, cropped, evaluative metering

It’s a pretty good size head right now. This would be perfect for my Fall gardening, I might plant a few heads.

Canon T2i, EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/5.6, 1/320sec, ISO 400, focal length 91mm, evaluative metering

Bo’s mom gave me some white lettuce seeds, I thought the birds ate them all but I see they still left a few for me.

Canon T2i, EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/4, 1/160sec, ISO 400, focal length 98mm, evaluative metering

This is not an ideal spot for my string beans, there are too many roots from the big tree.  I’m thinking about moving it to the banana tree area next year.  The string beans need full sun and plenty of room to grow, and this trellis is taken over by the Ivy.

Canon T2i, EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/5.6, 1/100sec, ISO 400, focal length 70mm, evaluative metering

I love fresh lemongrass.

Canon T2i, EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/5.6, 1/320sec, ISO 400, focal length 73mm, evaluative metering

8 thoughts on “My Garden June 24, 2011

  1. What beautiful garden photos, Nye. I appreciate your photographic eye. The tomatoes look like they’re modestly peeking out of their greenery. The hanging tiny cucumber feels so special and vulnerable. I also like the painted rock and the half-view of the angel.

    • Thanks Kathy, good lightning makes a huge different in an image. The color seems richer photographing in the early morning hour and here I decided to do it Friday morning and had to rush to work, I wonder why I didn’t think to do it Saturday morning. It must be the light that I saw that morning. 🙂

    • Thanks seeharhed, the vegetables took a growth spurt. As I was taking the first image, I think I could use this for Scott’s 4 seasons assignment. We have to take the same image in all 4 seasons, I got Spring and Summer already and just need to take Fall and Winter. I hope it will snow before the due date.

  2. Your cabbage always amazes me. It seem to be growing year around now.

    I am finally planting my first tomato plant this summer (at my mom’s garden). It was either that or in a container.

    They say you’re not a grown-up unless you’ve successfully grown tomatoes. I chose the “Yellow Pear tomato” which I love because they are sweet. And of course they are all so expensive at the market. 😉

    • Cambree, I’ve only grown cherry tomatoes and really need to expand to different types next time. I thought about hanging tomatoes and might try that since I’m running out of room and this is a perfect time to grow tomatoes for the fall season. The cabbage is not as easy to grow as I thought. My sister said that some organic Thai growers put nylon stockings over the heads to protect from the caterpillars, something to think about. 🙂

Leave a Reply

