June Full Strawberry Moon

I’m a day late, a dollar short and missed the lunar eclipse, I have to blame this on my location. The photo below is from yahoo news, the Earth completely casts its shadow over the moon in a total lunar eclipse as seen in Manila, Philippines before dawn Thursday June 16, 2011. The total lunar eclipse was also visible in most parts of Asia. (AP Photo/Bullit Marquez)

Photo/Bullit Marquez

June full moon is called Full Strawberry Moon and was universal to every Algonquin tribe.  It’s also called Full Strawberry Moon because the relatively short season for harvesting strawberries comes each year during the month of June, so the full Moon that occurs during that month was christened for the strawberry. Source.

A day shy of a full moon and it’s very bight above, I bet you can harvest strawberries tonight. I was in my backyard photographing the full moon but didn’t try to harvest Lee’s strawberry.

Canon T2i, EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/13, 1/320sec, ISO 400, focal length 200mm, closeup cropped, spot metering, tripod mounted

2 thoughts on “June Full Strawberry Moon

  1. Hello, I surfed in here via a comment you left in FS Photography’s blog. I’m enjoying looking at your photos and some of your youtube vids (I’ve got broadband but it’s terribly slow today. Bit like me!) Sorry about the fish. Were they all Koi? We had a pond full of Koi but an otter ate them. (Otters are a protected species in the UK where I live).

    Lovely orchids. And I like the chickens! 🙂

    • Hi Val, thanks for your visits and comment. My sister fish that died were mostly Koi, I think only 1 or 2 comets. My sister puts a grill like metal to cover her pond because she’s afraid that the neighborhood kids might fall in, I wonder if this will help with the Otters.

      I’m glad there’s Youtube and Vimeo. I love the quality of Vimeo but youtube has more viewing options. 🙂

Leave a Reply

