Young Unicyclists

I went to see the young unicyclists at Lee’s school Friday evening.  Lee shows a great interest but I don’t think that this is something for her since she is afraid of falling and hurting herself. This boy was jumping over many cars, the crowd cheers.

Canon T2i, EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens, AP, f/4, 1/500sec, ISO 3200, exp. bias -0.3step, focal length 98mm, evaluative metering

The teacher lining up more cars.  🙂

Canon T2i, EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens, Aperture Priority, f/4, 1/400sec, ISO 3200, exposure bias -0.3step, focal length 113mm, evaluative metering

He is a daredevil, great jumped over his teacher.

Canon T2i, EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens, A P, f/4, 1/500sec, ISO 3200, exp.bias -0.3step, focal length 70mm, evaluative metering

I decided to try panning after a few shots. Panning is a technique in which you move the camera parallel to and at the same speed as the subject, this is to show speed.  I used a small minimum aperture of  f/22, which allows me to use a slow shutter speed of 1/13th and 1/15th of second.  These photos were taken with Aperture Priority. I set my AF mode to AI SERVO and drive mode to continuous shooting.

Canon T2i, EF 17-40mm f/4L USM lens, Aperture Priority, f/22, 1/13sec, ISO 3200, exposure bias 0step, focal length 40mm, evaluative metering

Canon T2i, EF 17-40mm f/4L USM lens, Aperture Priority, f/22, 1/15sec, ISO 3200, exposure bias -0.3step, focal length 40mm, evaluative metering

Canon T2i, EF 17-40mm f/4L USM lens, Aperture Priority, f/22, 1/15sec, ISO 3200, exposure bias -0.3step, focal length 34mm, evaluative metering

54 thoughts on “Young Unicyclists

  1. I agree with notesfromrumblycottage (cool name!) that it’s brilliant to see the kids engaged with a physical activity, and unicycling is such an unusual choice. As an old unicyclist, I applaud them and their teachers.

  2. i had no idea anybody but clowns road unicycles…i kinda wanna try. although it would likely result in some sort of catastrophic injury.

  3. I love the pictures. There’s no way that I could move the camera and not make the whole picture look in motion. I’ll give it a try though. Thanks for the photo lesson and the opportunity to watch a kid jump 5 cars on a unicycle.

  4. This is crazy!! This post caught my eye, because just YESTERDAY, i saw a sight that i’ve never in my life witnessed ….YES…a unicyclist cycling through traffic!! I follow him for about a half a mile because i was trying to get my phone out of my purse so i could take a photo of him! Since i was following him, the shot i got could easily be portrayed as a regular cyclist, so i wooshed by him knowing i only had one shot…and i MISSED! My husband barely believes me that i followed a unicyclist home!! Too bad.

  5. That’s really cool that they had that at the school! Those kids look like they did that before they took their first steps! 🙂

  6. Photos look great and I found the detailed comments interesting. Perhaps I should take more interest in my camera.

  7. Caught my eye. I expected full size cars so I had to laugh when I saw the reality.

    Now a minor correction, f/22 is not the shutter speed… Darn pro photographer I used to be. Maybe I’m just frustrated at how great the photos are that people are getting with the digital cameras and how hard I used to have to work before digital… 🙂

    Look forward to your next…

  8. Oh my! The teachers probably did a really good job training them, so they could trust the unicyclists to jump over them.

  9. This makes me miss living in Addison, Texas. I would be stuck in traffic on my way to work in north Dallas and would see a unicyclist crossing the street. Where do you think he worked? Also, The Colbert Report did an amazing editorial on unicyclists. Thanks for sharing your lovely photos!

  10. I had a unicycle as a kid and could never get the hang of it so this is really cool to see! Also there is no such thing as a slow shutter speed of f/22. I think you meant 1/13th of a sec. But that only means I read every word. Good job.

    ~Mike
    mikelamonica.wordpress.com

    • Hi Mike, I used the wrong choice of word, I changed my post to say “a small minimum aperture of f/22, which allows me to use a slow shutter speed of 1/13th of a second.” Thanks for your comment and stopping by. 🙂

  11. I really like your photos! I use a point and shoot (Olympus tough series), and really need to familiarize myself with it better. Any easy tips to make basic photos stand out?

  12. Pingback: 10 Blogs « ndgsblueblur5

  13. Pingback: My Dad’s Garden June 11, 2011 « Nye Noona

Leave a Reply

