Rice Paddy June 3, 2011

It’s rice planting season again.  My co-workers actually finished planting their rice paddies last week and I couldn’t photograph it since it rained last Friday.  If I had known about a rainsleeve then I could have photographed the rice paddy in the rain, this could have been interesting.  I read about the rainsleeve at Scott’s blog post Rainy Days and Photography recently.

Scott is also having an online auction offering a special print of his for people to bid on to raise funds for his Relay for Life team in support of cancer research by the American Cancer Society. AUCTION ENDS: Monday, June 6, 2011 at midnight US Eastern Daylight Time, check out his Bridge of Hope Online Auction post for more detail.

"Bridge of Hope" - Spring comes to the gorge in Taughannock Falls State Park near Ithaca, New York.

So this is the second week of rice planting and I got there about the same time as my co-worker.  She had a big bucket of fertilizer and they looked like little salt rocks. The rice paddies smell so nice and I regret that I didn’t bring my telephoto zoom lens to photograph the dragonfly.

Canon T2i, EF 17-40mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/16, 1/100sec, ISO 200, focal length 29mm, evaluative metering

It was hot and humid, I was surprised to see her wore a Lao sinh since she’s Hmong.  She was fertilizing her rice paddy below.

Canon T2i, EF 17-40mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/5.6, 1/640sec, ISO 200, focal length 17mm, evaluative metering

9 thoughts on “Rice Paddy June 3, 2011

  1. I was really surprised you grow rice where you live in USA! Do you harvest and eat this rice too?
    Great with your link to Scott’s fund raising for cancer research – I hope he will raise a big amount for his fine photography.

    • Hi truels, the rice paddies belong to my co-workers and they sold me some rice in the last 2 years. They planted the rice for their own families and fresh rice taste so much better than store bought rice. Farming rice in the USA is backbreaking since most have to work a normal job also, but I’m sure it’s a labor of love. I’ll be updating the rice paddy weekly until harvest time.

  2. This is a first time I see Hmong wear Lao sinh. I wish I can say the same for the weather out here. We had it all, the rain, the thunder storms, and even some tornado touch downs.

    • seeharhed, first time for me also and she had on black shoes, so obvious that the rice paddy wasn’t her only stop. The weather has been so unpredictable these days.

  3. I wonder if the rice harvested here will last them for the year. That would make them pretty self sufficient when it comes to food.

    I’ve seen many Hmong ladies wear sihn out here. And it looks nice on them. This purple sihn from the photo reminds me of a Hawaiian design. I can imagine it would make a nice skirt. 🙂

    • Cambree, the rice lasts them the whole year, my co-worker even sold some to me last year. They also raise their own chickens and grow their own vegetables, it’s kind of nice.

      It’s very rare to see people wearing sinh out and about in our area, we also have less Lao and Hmong comparing to your area. The sinh would make a nice skirt fabric and would be perfect for a long skirt.. My sister has some sinh fabrics that she plans to make into a long skirt, and I have to give up my old black skirt for a pattern.

  4. Pingback: Rice Paddy June 10, 2011 « Nye Noona

Leave a Reply

