Fixed Versus Zoom Lens

I had the opportunity to test out the Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM Medium Telephoto Lens. I absolute love the fact that it’s a fast lens and would love to have kept it. This is a great lens for portrait and food photography, but I don’t have that much money to buy lens just for that.  I need a walk around lens and this fixed lens is not working out for me, I realized after shooting a few shots that I have very little control of what’s in the frame and have to move myself around just to get a shot.  I knew that this will become a problem if I’m in a tight space and can’t move around like at the temple. The two photos below were taken with the EF85mm lens.

Canon T2i, EF 85mm f/1.8 USM lens, Manual, f/1.8, 1/1250sec, ISO 100, focal length 85mm, evaluative metering

Canon T2i, EF 85mm f/1.8 USM lens, Manual, f/1.8, 1/1600sec, ISO 100, focal length 85mm, evaluative metering

Then I decided to purchase the Canon EF 17-40mm f/4L USM Ultra Wide Angle Zoom Lens. I think it’s perfect for what I need, it’s lighter than my old lens. Since I have a crop body camera the 17-40mm focal length extends out to 27-64mm. These are the Ice plants in my front yard taken with the EF 17-40mm.

Canon T2i, EF 17-40mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/4, 1/800sec, ISO 100, focal length 33mm, evaluative metering

Canon T2i, EF 17-40mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/4, 1/1000sec, ISO 100, focal length 40mm, evaluative metering

The beauty of the ‘Krinkled White’ Paeonia is fading fast with time.

Canon T2i, EF 17-40mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/4, 1/2000sec, ISO 100, focal length 40mm, evaluative metering

Canon T2i, EF 17-40mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/4, 1/1600sec, ISO 100, focal length 40mm, evaluative metering

Flowers at my dad’s house.

Canon T2i, EF 17-40mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/4, 1/125sec, ISO 100, focal length 40mm, evaluative metering

Canon T2i, EF 17-40mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/5.6, 1/50sec, ISO 100, focal length 29mm, evaluative metering

Canon T2i, EF 17-40mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/4, 1/160sec, ISO 100, focal length 40mm, evaluative metering

10 thoughts on “Fixed Versus Zoom Lens

  1. Both lens put out nice pictures. Did you rented both of those lens to test it out? I tried shooting with prime lens(fixed) before and I didn’t fall in love with it. Good choice to go with EF 17-40mm. I’m guessing you will be taking lots of picture this coming weekend.

    • Hi seeharhed, I bought the 85mm last week and realized that I didn’t like it. They have a good return policy and I shipped it back and got the EF17-40mm instead, they even gave me a free gray camera bag. 🙂

      I really need the lens this weekend, I have some events to attend and want to help them take picture on Friday, Saturday and Sunday. Not sure how much of it I could post at my blog, I have to see.

  2. Does this mean you are back in business with the new lens? That is good news. Max’s portrait is really nice, then again he is a handsome guy.

    Iceplants makes the yard look so welcoming and cheerful this time of year. 🙂

    • Cambree, I’m back in business again. The one that I took of Max is a nice lens and would be great for portrait photography, everyone would look as pretty as Max guarantee. 😉

      The ice plant makes me think of the ocean, they look so odd to me being on land but it’s very cheerful to see.

    • Thanks Scott, I do wish that it’s a faster lens, but that means more $ also. I really like it so far. The 50mm is still on my Christmas list. 🙂

    • Hi Giiid, this lens allows me to get real close to the flower which my old lens couldn’t do as well. The beauty of the flower doesn’t last forever and that’s why I like to capture it in picture. 🙂

Leave a Reply

