Grandma’s Garden May 1, 2011

Bo’s parents are retired and live a simple life.  Grandma spends most of her time in her garden and also caring for her hens and roosters.

[vimeo http://vimeo.com/23191624 w=500&h=400]

These cabbages are beautiful, something to brag about and I know she is very proud of them.

She has a large garden and took advantage of her space by planting her vegetables early in the season.

She has a better luck with her broccoli. Her garden is not quiet chicken proof but definitely rabbit proof.

Freshly picked lettuce is the best.  We made Summer Roll for dinner, all the vegetables were freshly picked from her garden.

She planted her spring onions close together, something that I didn’t think to do.

The young Kaffir lime was planted from seed last summer.

These are sweet potatoes.

Dill

Pak Hom Pae in Thai, not sure what it’s called in English. It’s called Sawtooth or Mexican Coriander in English, thanks to Cambree for the name.

I think she plants enough for her friends and family.

I will add exif data when I have more time.

10 thoughts on “Grandma’s Garden May 1, 2011

  1. Grandma’s has plenty of nice veggies in her garden. Has she thought about selling them at the farmer’s market? I especially like the Asian herbs.

    And ‘Pak Hom Pae” is call “Sawtooth or Mexican Coriander”. I made a post about it at Cambree Notes. 🙂

    • Cambree, I search for the name when making the post but couldn’t find. I remember your post now, thanks.

      She gives it to her friends that visit her, and also those that come by the house to buy her eggs. I guess it’s an extra bonus for her customers. 🙂

    • Hi truels, she enjoys working in her garden and a good exercise for her also. It’s country living here, you don’t see many tall buildings at where we live. 🙂

  2. Wow!! Looks like she have pretty have every vegetables in her garden. Everything looks nice and healthy, I love Puk Hom Pae with larb or pho. Her Puk Kaow Thong are looking really green and thick.

    • seeharhed, puk hom pae is also good with tum mak houng, she gave me some to plant in my garden. I don’t like Puk Kaow Thong, it smells too fishy for me. Everything in her garden looks very pretty, she waters her garden in the morning and it might be the best time of the day also.

  3. Pingback: Visiting Grandma « Nye Noona

  4. Pingback: As Good As New! « Nye Noona

Leave a Reply

