My Garden in April

I couldn’t tend to my garden as much as I would like to and glad that it has been raining on a regular basis.

Canon T2i, EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM lens, Manual, f/11, 1/80sec, ISO 400, focal length 24mm, evaluative metering

Evening is definitely a bath time for the birds.

Canon T2i, EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM lens, Manual, f/11, 1/80sec, ISO 400, focal length 105mm, closeup cropped, evaluative metering

The last time I saw them they looked like little white termites underneath the rock, and now they are tiny black ants marching one by one.

Canon T2i, EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM lens, Manual, f/11, 1/40sec, ISO 400, focal length 105mm, closeup cropped, evaluative metering

These are ready to be harvested, just in time for the Spring planting.

Canon T2i, EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM lens, Manual, f/5.6, 1/250sec, ISO 400, focal length 40mm, cropped, evaluative metering

Some of the cabbages that the rabbit ate grew back.

Canon T2i, EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM lens, Manual, f/8, 1/125sec, ISO 400, focal length 105mm, evaluative metering

Apparently the rabbit didn’t like buk choy.  The plants seem to spread out instead of growing tall like the one that you see in the store.

Canon T2i, EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM lens, Manual, f/5.6, 1/160sec, ISO 400, focal length 45mm, evaluative metering

The mints grow faster than I could eat, especially now that I haven’t been cooking my normal Laotian meal.

Canon T2i, EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM lens, Manual, f/5.6, 1/125sec, ISO 400, focal length 75mm, evaluative metering

Lee’s first strawberry.

Canon T2i, EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM lens, Manual, f/5.6, 1/160sec, ISO 400, focal length 105mm, evaluative metering

Canon T2i, EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM lens, Manual, f/5.6, 1/500sec, ISO 400, focal length 90mm, evaluative metering

Bo’s red Paeonias should be blooming by next week.

Canon T2i, EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM lens, Manual, f/6.3, 1/100sec, ISO 400, focal length 58mm, evaluative metering

Did you know that holy tree has flowers in the Spring?

Canon T2i, EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM lens, Manual, f/5.6, 1/250sec, ISO 400, focal length 84mm, spot metering

And lastly it’s still a Spring photo, Bo’s Japanese Maple.

Canon T2i, EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM lens, Manual, f/5.6, 1/160sec, ISO 400, focal length 85mm, evaluative metering

6 thoughts on “My Garden in April

  1. It’s just amazing to me that so much is growing anywhere. (I had snow on my car again this morning.) The Japanese maple startled me. I had no idea it produced such brilliant little pods. That’s a really nice image.

    • Thanks Gerry, I was surprised to see the little pods also, I guess I never paid attention to it before. The spring planting turns out a lot better than I had hoped for, and I’ve been enjoying making vegetable soup. 🙂

    • Hi seeharhed, we had someone came out to spray and it was termites that I saw. I’m glad they took care of it, not sure what made me look underneath the rock, and I’m glad that I did. I already started harvesting these vegetables and will be planting the summer vegetables in a week or so.

  2. Your garden is coming along very nicely!

    I never knew about the holly tree and their spring flowers. And the Japanese maple have such neat pods. Thanks for giving us such an interesting stroll in your garden.

    • Thanks Cambree. I’m glad I planted the early spring garden, plenty enough for us and the rabbit also. 🙂 I need to harvest these and give the vegetables to my dad and sisters to make room for the summer garden.

Leave a Reply

