My Garden in March

I’m glad that my peach tree survived the winter months. It produced several fruits last year but none stick.  This year doesn’t look too promising either since there are only a few blooms on the tree.

Canon T2i, EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM lens, Manual, f/4, 1/160sec, ISO 400, focal length 50mm, evaluative metering

I took these photos last Thursday and it has been raining a lot in the last few weeks.  The wind did a lot of damage to the flowers.

Canon T2i, EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM lens, Manual, f/4, 1/160sec, ISO 400, focal length 105mm, evaluative metering

It has been one month since I planted these vegetables and they have grown some.

Canon T2i, EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM lens, Manual, f/8, 1/50sec, ISO 400, focal length 32mm, evaluative metering

I’m glad that the buk choy didn’t drown from the heavy rain falls.

Canon T2i, EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM lens, Manual, f/8, 1/50sec, ISO 400, focal length 105mm, evaluative metering

Canon T2i, EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM lens, Manual, f/8, 1/80sec, ISO 400, focal length 73mm, evaluative metering

My mints start to have a minty aroma now.

Canon T2i, EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM lens, Manual, f/8, 1/25sec, ISO 400, focal length 67mm, evaluative metering

The Arugula plant adds a nice touch to the garden.

Canon T2i, EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM lens, Manual, f/8, 1/40sec, ISO 400, focal length 35mm, evaluative metering

The ornamental cabbage from the Fall planting.

Canon T2i, EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM lens, Manual, f/8, 1/40sec, ISO 400, focal length 105mm, evaluative metering

The broccoli and cabbages are getting a lot bigger.

Canon T2i, EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM lens, Manual, f/5.6, 1/100sec, ISO 400, focal length 45mm, evaluative metering

I’m keeping my fingers cross for these loquats.

Canon T2i, EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM lens, Manual, f/8, 1/60sec, ISO 400, focal length 75mm, evaluative metering

There is one that is doing well, the green leave looks promising.

Canon T2i, EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM lens, Manual, f/4, 1/160sec, ISO 400, focal length 90mm, evaluative metering

I finally got my own orchid.  This one was given to me by my sister Bee, well sort of give. I did an Income Tax return for her and she gave me this orchid as a token of her appreciation, not that I expect anything from her. I’m glad that she gave it to me because I’ve been wanting one but didn’t have the heart to buy.

Canon T2i, EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM lens, Manual, f/8, 1/20sec, ISO 400, focal length 105mm, evaluative metering, tripod mounted

I found a perfect spot for it, and bought the pink one last week.  They seem to like their new home, and they get plenty morning sunlight.

Canon T2i, EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM lens, Manual, f/5.6, 1/10sec, ISO 400, focal length 28mm, evaluative metering, tripod mounted

12 thoughts on “My Garden in March

  1. Lovely garden update and everything is coming up green. I am keeping my fingers cross for the little loquats too.

    The orchids are pretty. Now you have 2 plants. You are a lucky gal! 🙂

    • Thanks Cambree, it’s funny how we barter our service in my family, my second sister also made several oriental blouses for me for doing her income tax for her. 🙂

      I saw a new plant coming up in one of the blue pots, it looks like a loquats plant. I think I might have brought it out too early since we still had frost several weeks back.

  2. I am sorry about the peach tree. Maybe it’s just going to take its time establishing itself. I’m envious of your loooooooong growing season.

    The orchids are lovely. I can imagine sitting in that chair in the morning, gathering my thoughts for the day.

    • Gerry, I’m glad that I’m able to take advantage of the Fall and early Spring planting, these vegetables like cool weather. It’s nice to see things grow, but the real planting won’t start till the middle of April here.

      The orchids are right in front of my Ab Coaster also, it’s nice to see them when I exercise. 🙂

    • Hi lady0fdarkness, by then all these vegetables will be harvested and I’ll be planting the Asian vegetables like chili peppers, Thai eggplants, basil, and string beans. It’s good to be able to work outdoor again. 🙂

  3. Looks like your garden is coming along nicely, considering this year long winter months. Lately, it is been raining so much here. I need to do something about my box garden:-).

    • Hi seeharhed, it has been raining and cold here also. I’m considering planting less flowers and more vegetables this year. Box garden is great for kitchen garden, you should make a good use of it. 🙂

  4. Very nice Nye. That arugula will produce a yellow flower and spread seeds all over your garden. I visited the in-laws this weekend and noticed wild arugula growing all over their land. It had lots of yellow flower, but the plant was smaller than the one I have in the garden, maybe not enough nutrients.

    • Hi PaNoy, their land probably don’t have as much nutrients as your garden beds and I figure the soil is hard also. It has been raining a lot here, and it’s good for the early spring vegetables. I plan to move some of the arugula to the flower bed area, this way they’ll have more room to grow.

Leave a Reply

