Close Up Photography

My walk on Saturday was also to photograph for the Close Up Photography assignment and this is my contribution to Scott Thomas Photography Assignment 12. One of the problems that I ran into while shooting outdoor was the wind, this daffodil kept swaying back and forth.Β  Since I don’t have a macro lens, I decided to use my 70-200mm telephoto zoom lens for composition purpose. I shot these images in AI Focus mode, I’m happy that it creates a sharp image and a nice bokeh background.

Canon T2i, EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/4, 1/1000sec, ISO 400, focal length 163mm, closeup cropped, evaluative metering

I used a tripod for the second image. It helped some and luckily the wind died down in the evening.

Canon T2i, EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/4, 1/500sec, ISO 400, focal length 200mm, evaluative metering, closeup cropped, tripod mounted

27 thoughts on “Close Up Photography

    • Thanks Cambree, I guess not much we could do with the wind. It’s a hit and miss for me sometimes and luckily my daffodil image is sharp at the center. As for the second image, I got lucky that I didn’t have to go far. πŸ™‚

    • Hi Scott, you are welcome. I like using my zoom lens because it makes everything look so nice and tidy, a better control of the background also. I guess the only thing that I’m missing is the feeling of shooting the image up close and something that I could live with for now. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Dallas, I like the last picture also. I think the windy condition makes it a challenge to photograph, plus since this is in the neighbor’s yard it would look kind of funny to spend too much time in front of their house. I made 2 shots and left, luckily both came out decent.

  1. That sure is one of the problems with macro shots outdoors… It’s not always practical (or welcomed.. lol).. but I have been known to cut the odd flower and photograph it indoors.. πŸ˜‰

    Love the bokeh you’ve got on your blossom shot…

    • Thanks Brian, I think the greenhouse would be more of an ideal place to shoot macro, cutting the neighbor’s flower might not be a good idea. πŸ™‚ I prefer shooting outdoor because of the natural lighting but then there’s other undesirable conditions also.

  2. Do you have buds already? Lucky you! This is really spring photos, lovely. I know all about the wind teasing, most of the time it is windy here. At least when I am out with my camera. πŸ™‚

    • Hi Giiid, Spring visited us a bit early this year, I think about 2 weeks earlier than last year and I’m glad that we didn’t have any major frost that killed the farmer’s crops this year. The wind is definitely a challenge for me also. πŸ™‚

  3. Pingback: Assignment 12 Recap | Views Infinitum

Leave a Reply

