Ranting About High Gas Price

So they say that the high in gas price is because of crude oil prices soar on political strife in North Africa and the Middle East.

Canon T2i, EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM lens, Manual, f/5.6, 1/200sec, ISO 400, focal length 82mm, evaluative metering

Just at lunch time I was paying $3.25 per gallon for Unleaded, and this evening it has already increased to $3.29 per gallon. It was $2.99 per gallon last week by the way.

Canon T2i, EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM lens, Manual, f/5.6, 1/200sec, ISO 400, focal length 75mm, cropped, evaluative metering

This flower is so fragile, yesterday’s storm had bruised and torn the petals apart.  I guess very much like the storms of life that are raging, made me wonder what stage some of us are facing right now.  Is it the calm before the storm?  In the midst of the storm?  or after the storm. Regardless of the stage that you are in, just remember that if you survived life goes on.  Just look at this flower below, as beautiful as ever.

Canon T2i, EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM lens, Manual, f/5.6, 1/200sec, ISO 400, focal length 105mm, cropped, evaluative metering

Back to the prices of gas, some might be thinking about taking other alternative transportation.  What about the old reliable legs.  It’s made for walking and running, it will definitely get you from point A to point B.

About the tattoo, this belongs to one of my co-workers.  She chose a butterfly tattoo with names of her family members on the wings, all female of course and her dad’s initial as the body.  The tattoo looks real neat, although quiet painful to have done. Butterfly tattoos are primarily female tattoos, the butterfly itself is pretty and feminine, the tattoos on the other hand have a lot of meanings such as a symbol of rebirth and transformation, symbolizes a new life, a symbol of freedom, or symbolizes a person’s soul.  As for my co-worker, she has gone through a lot and the tattoo has a special meaning to her.

Canon T2i, EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/5.6, 1/20sec, ISO 400, focal length 98mm, evaluative metering

I know what she is thinking, beat me to the broomstick.

Canon T2i, EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens, Manual, f/5.6, 1/15sec, ISO 400, focal length 70mm, evaluative metering

I’m sure he has no worries whether the prices of gas rise or fall.

Photo from Laos, taken November 2008 in Paksun

This is not a bad choice of transportation either, and since I live in the country I could probably get away with it. I need to trade my car in for a real horse power.

Photo at Lazy 5 Ranch, taken in June 2009

And don’t forget about my buddy back home.

Photo from Laos, taken November 2008

16 thoughts on “Ranting About High Gas Price

  1. And people ask me why I don’t drive.

    Gas prices are ridiculous here in Korea as well as in Laos.

    Fortunately in Daejeon, the public transportation is quite good.

    • Jeffrey, that’s the benefit of living in the city, I wish we have something like that here. I paid $35 to fill up my car today when I recall not too long ago I only pay $25. One of my co-workers pay $75 to fill up her car weekly, that’s a lot.

  2. Nye, it is not as bad there comparing to California.. It is almost $4 per gallon here for regular unleaded. All the petroleum companies are making their profits taking advantage of the situations in the Middle East.

    • seeharhed, I would expect the big city to be higher than us. I’m glad that I have a small vehicle, kind of missed my old corolla that didn’t take that much gas at all.

  3. Gas prices:
    You pay 3.29 USD / Gallon
    We pay 12.25 DKK / liter
    One USD is 5.37 DKK – One Gallon is 3.785 liter
    We pay 12.25 x 3.785 / 5.37 = 8.64 USD / Gallon !!!

    Please don’t complain about your gas prices 🙂

    The Magnolia flowers are beautiful. If you could just post a little of their fragrance too.

    • Hi Carsten, I know nothing comparing to Europe. I guess that’s why so many people ride bicycle in Denmark. I think Americans mentality might be shifting to Less is more soon, I know mine has for the last 10 years or so.

    • Geni, I guess sometimes it’s not really our storm but we walk right into one. I notice you spell flours, must be thinking about baking. 😉

  4. In California, today’s gas price was at $3.85. My future day trips will cost more now. 😦

    I wouldn’t mind public transportation too much if it was clean and safe. So I can read or knit without having to worry about crime.

    • Cambree, taking public transportation takes some getting used to. I took it many years in NYC and you find all kinds of people, definitely can’t beat your own car. I think many with big SUV should be thinking about smaller vehicle now. I’m glad that my dad lives close by.

  5. I’m feeling gloomy about oil prices but not so much because of gasoline–I don’t really use much of that, and I think it’s one of the easiest things for most people to trim a little. I worry about the rolling effect on everything else we buy. We are in for Interesting Times.

    • Gerry, I feel the same way, and business wise I see price increases left and right. Bo was just talking to someone that he know, their house value went down by $30,000. The only good thing about this is that they have to pay less tax, but as far as resale value it doesn’t look too good. I have to agree, we are in for Interesting Times.

Leave a Reply

