Saturday Random Photos

Life is a journey, today we traveled almost 200 miles (320 km) to visit relatives. It is our tradition to have an elder tying a white string around your wrist for good luck, and hopefully this old age tradition will pass down to the next generation.

Canon T2i, EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM lens, Aperture Priority, f/5.6, 1/15sec, ISO 400, exposure bias -0.3step, focal length 55mm, evaluative metering

In our tradition, when you visit a family or friends you go hungry because there’s plenty of food. My plate was piled with Larp shirmp (spicy shrimp), sliced cucumbers, tum buk houng (spicy papaya salad), pork rind, Nham and sticky rice.

Canon T2i, EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM lens, Aperture Priority, f/4, 1/30sec, ISO 400, exposure bias 0step, focal length 47mm, evaluative metering

And PaNoy made his seafood combination dish, it tasted as good as it looks.

Canon T2i, EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM lens, Aperture Priority, f/5.6, 1/15sec, ISO 400, exposure bias -0.3step, focal length 75mm, evaluative metering

I took the opportunity to visit PaNoy’s garden as well.

Canon T2i, EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM lens, Manual, f/8, 1/40sec, ISO 400, focal length 28mm, evaluative metering

As you can see that winter is still lingering.

Canon T2i, EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM lens, Aperture Priority, f/5.6, 1/800sec, ISO 400, exposure bias -0.3step, focal length 105mm, evaluative metering

And spring is around the corner, his apricot tree is in bloom.

Canon T2i, EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM lens, Manual, f/8, 1/40sec, ISO 400, focal length 58mm, evaluative metering
Canon T2i, EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM lens, Aperture Priority, f/5.6, 1/2000sec, ISO 400, exposure bias 0step, focal length 88mm, evaluative metering

A garden is a place to learn and explore for young children.

Canon T2i, EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM lens, Aperture Priority, f/5.6, 1/2000sec, ISO 400, exposure bias 0step, focal length 105mm, evaluative metering

And she has so much to teach, I think she found herself a helper.

Canon T2i, EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM lens, Aperture Priority, f/5.6, 1/1000sec, ISO 400, exposure bias 0step, focal length 28mm, evaluative metering

Great thing about a perennial plant is that they come back year after year.

Canon T2i, EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM lens, Manual, f/8, 1/20sec, ISO 400, focal length 70mm, evaluative metering

Only one of his artichoke plants survived the winter.

Canon T2i, EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM lens, Manual, f/5.6, 1/125sec, ISO 400, focal length 70mm, evaluative metering

The mustard greens are a hardy plant and one of my favorite early spring vegetables. I normally steam it and eat with hot sauce.

Canon T2i, EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM lens, Manual, f/5.6, 1/100sec, ISO 400, focal length 95mm, evaluative metering
Canon T2i, EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM lens, Manual, f/8, 1/40sec, ISO 400, focal length 58mm, evaluative metering

PaNoy gave this plant to me. I’m not sure what it’s called It’s called Arugula and it tastes like a horseradish.

Canon T2i, EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM lens, Aperture Priority, f/5.6, 1/125sec, ISO 400, exposure bias -0.3step, focal length 43mm, evaluative metering
Canon T2i, EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM lens, Manual, f/5.6, 1/100sec, ISO 400, focal length 55mm, evaluative metering

This has been an unusual day for me. I don’t normally give a haircut, not just one but four and I’m not even a hair stylist. I do give haircut to my dad and you can say that I’m his personal hair stylist.

Auto Mode, photo taken by PaNoy

15 comments

    • Hi salalao, a home is definitely a good place to start. I think those that have interest will value the tradition and custom, and it seems that there are few and far in between these days.

  1. As much I hate to say this… The tradition “pouk kan” will be gone in the next 20 or 30 years for the folks that lives in the U.S. or Canada.

    Oh by the way… can I get a free haircut too? 🙂

    • Hi seeharhed, I guess I need to bring a pair of scissors where ever I go now. 🙂

      “Pouk Kan” is definitely a dying tradition for people living abroad, but I hope not completely gone.

  2. Thank you for taking all the wonderful photos. I am using that one you took of the four of us as my desktop theme. You do have an eye for seeing through the lens. It is one of your many gifts. Thank you again.

    • Thanks PaNoy and you are welcome. The set came out a lot better than I expected, especially the indoor photos. I guess the learning pays off. 🙂

    • Thanks for the name, I planted them in the garden on Sunday and I hope that they are not drowned by the storm that we had today.

  3. It’s nice to be able to visit family every now and then. The boys are adorable.

    PaNoy’s winter garden is nice with all the leafy greens. That artichoke is a real fighter to have survived the cold.

    Nye the hair stylist… you can add that to your list of talents! 🙂

    • Cambree, I used to cut Danny’s hair also. Only if I was in Laos, I could open up a small store at the house and have ‘hair cut’ as one on the list. 🙂

      I had a chance to do some photo shoot for his family also, the boys are adorable especially the younger one. PaNoy has a nice garden and plenty of space to expand.

  4. Our traditions are very similar! I too hope that our old traditional will pass down to the younger generation, but sadly it’ll be very hard, at least for us Hmong people since many of us are so into mainstream america.

    • mozemoua, the old age tradition is dying in America and it’s harder for the younger generations to grasp the concept since they only see it every now and then. The lifestyle is different here than back home, and you really can’t force it. They have to want to embrace it themselves for the tradition to live on.

Comments are closed.