Early Spring Planting

My Fall planting didn’t go so well, I had so much to do and so little time to tend to the garden that I didn’t plant a lot last Fall.  I wanted to expand my garden this year, but I really don’t have room so I plan to use all my planting beds for vegetable planting and plant the herbs such as basil and lemongrass in pots instead.

Manual, EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM lens, f/8, 1/30sec, ISO 400, focal length 24mm, white balance cloudy, evaluative metering

I’ve been cleaning the garden in the last two weeks, and started planting this weekend.  I still have a lot to do, these vegetables like the cold weather and will thrive well this time of the year, below is buk choy.

Manual, EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM lens, f/8, 1/15sec, ISO 400, focal length 28mm, white balance cloudy, evaluative metering

Broccoli and cabbages are planted in the back planting beds.

Manual, EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM lens, f/8, 1/13sec, ISO 400, focal length 105mm, white balance cloudy, evaluative metering

If it’s up to Lee, my her garden would have an art deco style to it and this could get very expensive. This is her choice of color by the way, blue is her favorite color, so blue pot it is.

Manual, EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens, f/8, 1/40sec, ISO 400, focal length 126mm, white balance cloudy, evaluative metering

I try to keep things simple and even the old bird bath has a new function, perfect for strawberry planting that’s spreading like wild fire in my backyard.

Manual, EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM lens, f/5.6, 1/25sec, ISO 400, focal length 82mm, white balance cloudy, evaluative metering

The birds are loving the new bird bath, I think they are glad that spring is around the corner.

Manual, EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM lens, f/8, 1/30sec, ISO 400, focal length 105mm, white balance cloudy, evaluative metering

I didn’t have the right lens at the time, here is a cropped closeup image.

Manual, EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM lens, f/8, 1/30sec, ISO 400, focal length 105mm, white balance cloudy, evaluative metering, closeup cropped

As I had mentioned in my previous post that the man behind us gave my dad 2 trees for firewood.  He went all out to clean the back and now I can see the house behind us. I’m glad to be working in my garden again, love the smell of the earth.

Manual, EF70-200mm f/4L USM lens, f/8, 1/40sec, ISO 400, focal length 78mm, white balance cloudy, evaluative metering

16 thoughts on “Early Spring Planting

    • Hi lady0fdarkness, there’s a lot of garden work at this time of the year, things are starting to shoot up before I could trim the dead leaves and still less day light hours to work outside. I do look forward to Spring and Summer here. 🙂

  1. Wow that is early spring planting. Fresh bok choy from the garden must be a treat. Baby bok choys are some of my favorite veggies.

    My mom has cilantro, onions, and some broccoli for her winter garden. I planted some tulips and calendulas just to add some color besides green. 😀

    • Cambree, it gives me something to do. 🙂

      I bought some onions but didn’t have time to plant it yet. This is my first time planting broccoli so it will be interesting to see. I’ll be adding more potted flowers this year to add colors to the garden also.

  2. Pingback: My Garden in March « Nye Noona

Leave a Reply

