Frat Houses at ECU

I find older home charming.  Only if these walls could talk, I’m sure there are many interesting stories to tell. I often want to fix up one and if my dad were younger I would do it in a heartbeat. We live in a new subdivision but many of the houses have a retro feel to them.  The inside of our house was built like the older home with real wood planks in the pantry and closets which you don’t normally find in a newer home these days.

Having houses near the college is a good investment, it costs an arm and a leg for these college kids to live here.  These are the houses at ECU that’s right across the street from the University, most if not all were turned into a Frat house.

AV, f/18, 1/60sec, ISO-100, EB -0.3step, focal length 40mm, pattern metering

AV, f/18, 1/60sec, ISO-100, EB 0, focal length 24mm, pattern metering

AV, f/18, 1/60sec, ISO-100, EB -0.3step, focal length 32mm, pattern metering

And this one that I posted earlier.

AV, f/18, 1/50sec, ISO-100, EB 0, focal length 40mm, pattern metering

There are many squirrels in the area, this one stuck around for me to take its picture.

AV, f/4, 1/40sec, ISO-100, EB 0, fl 105mm, pattern metering, closeup cropped

But it didn’t stick around very long.

AV, f/14, 1/80sec, ISO-100, EB -0.3step, focal length 105mm, pattern metering, closeup cropped

Observing 911, it has been 9 years since the horrific event.  I was at work when it happened and one of my co-workers ran down the hall to tell me of what had happened.  This tragic event has changed the way we live, the way we view the world.

9 thoughts on “Frat Houses at ECU

    • Dallas, perhaps it was the first week of school and they probably worked on the landscape right before school started. It’s very different from where I live, but I’m sure these guys know how to party, after all this University is known as a party school.

    • Older homes are very charming. But house #4 reminds me of Amityville horror house! 😉

      I agree with Dallas, many frat houses are usually really trashy. Starting with the messy lawn.

  1. The old homes ARE charming! We live near a couple of universities, and it’s enjoyable to drive near some of the frat and sorority houses and admire them. (I am also admiring your squirrel. He/she posed very nicely!)

    • Hi Kathy, I wouldn’t mind visiting this place again, but only if it’s on our way to the beach. We live 5 hours drive from the beach and this is on the way.

  2. Most of those houses you took pictures of are actually sorority houses, Delta Zeta and Tri Sig. One isn’t even a sorority or fraternity house. The only fraternity house you posted is the Sigma Phi house.

Leave a Reply

