Grandma’s Garden August 8, 2010

I was surprised to see how lush and green Grandma’s garden is at this time of the year.

She has rows and rows of soybeans.

And her Thai eggplants are so beautiful.

The okra has such a pretty flower.

She gave me a pot of the sawtooth or Pak Cee Farang, also known in Lao as Pak Hom Pae.

Pak E-Leard.

She has many dragonflies hovering over her garden, and not surprised since she has a creek nearby.

Towards the end of the video I was talking about this butterfly.  Lee tricked me into taking this picture. I was in a hurry to take this picture because she said it might fly off any minute now, came to find out that it was a dead butterfly.

Yep, flying off any minute now.

Her persimmons are doing well this year.

This is her second garden on the other side of the house.  She planted Asian corns and soybeans.

The empty rice sack underneath the dried herbs is an old sticky rice bag from Laos.

14 thoughts on “Grandma’s Garden August 8, 2010

  1. Another great post. The ‘Butterfly in hand’ photos are amazing.
    It’s none of my business but I’m curious. If you don’t mind me asking, “Whose hand?” Who is the girl featured?
    You’re very knowledgable. I suspect that you’ve had a far better education than me or Mrs S. Thanks for sharing your knowledge with us.

    Have a good day, Boonsong

    • Hi Boonsong, the little girl is Lee, she is my daughter. I think her white t-shirt was a good reflector for this butterfly portrait. As for my education in Thailand, I didn’t complete the 4th grade and we left in the middle of the school year. I continued my studied in the US when I was little and completed a bachelor’s degree. I think blogging has helped me with my English.

  2. Nye – Very nice photos as always :-). The hot and humid weather in NC really helps the plants grow so nicely. My parents would of love to have those big back yard like most properties in Hickory.

    hhmmm… you said EE.. hahahhah I thought only guys called it “puk ee lerd” and most women called it..”puk nang lerd” :-)

    I love puk hom pae especially with pho or larb..

    • Hi seeharhed, Tai Tai call it EE, kind of blunt and to the point. It’s direct and gets the job done. :)

      I do wish that we have a bigger backyard, that is something that we might consider in the future. Bo’s mom takes good care of her garden and she had relatives in TX that called her and told her that they saw her beautiful garden on youtube. She thought it was my dad’s garden and not hers, she doesn’t realize how pretty her garden looks.

  3. I see lots of Asian herbs here. The water spinach look great too. I’ve never seen Okra plant before and the blossom is pretty.

    I also noticed her big patch of “Pak Kai Thong”. That is my favorite herb to eat with Lao spaghetti.

    Great job on the garden Grandma. :)

    • Cambree, the Okra plants are real pretty, I missed the planting season this year. I can’t bring myself to eat “Pak Kai Thong”, us Tai Tai called it Pak Kao Thong because it smells so fishy. I guess it’s one of those that you either like it or hate it. Lee also calls Kao Poun Lao spaghetti. :)

  4. The photo of the okra is very nice. Like the bokeh and the coloration. Poor butterflys, it is a rough life for them. Even a slit wind could damage them. Even though the poor butterfly was dead, the photo of it in Lee’s hands is a wonderful composition.

    • Scott, I thought it was alive when I took the picture and had to think real fast. These photos were taken at P mode and thanks again for writing a post about it.

  5. We have several persimmon trees, nearly all of the fruits have fallen. I don’t get it. Well, I do get it, we don’t pay attention to them. I’m surprised they lasted this long.

    • lyn, it’s a good thing that yours survived, ours died after a year or so. As much as I like them, I just don’t have much luck and I think they require a lot of caring. Our local temple have over 200 trees and I normally buy the fruits there in the fall.

Leave a Reply

