Saturday Random Photos

My progress of adjusting to a manual mode has been very slow, I guess I stayed in the comfort zone for way to long. At first I wanted a better zoom lens, but then I realized that it’s not so much in the gear but more so in the technique and understanding of your camera. It took me a while to come to this conclusion, I guess I thought a better lens will fix my problem.  It will definitely help but not fixing it. I decided to order a book, Understanding Exposure: How to Shoot Great Photographs with a Film or Digital Camera (Updated Edition) and hope that this will help me to become a better photographer.

We went back to visit the Butterfly Exhibit again today, I absolutely love this place.

I have to say that I have more miss than hit this time, but hopefully in time practice will make it perfect.

The Gekko is not at my house, but at the Science Center. This is what he sounds like.

I used to love buying this when I was little, but not with the cricket inside.  This is a cricket lick it and they come in assorted cricket.  It’s too funny, $1.75 for one.

My mom’s orchid is still in bloom.  It has been for 4 months now.

This is too funny, my sister and I laughed the whole time while I was filming this Wii Dance last Saturday at Valley Hills Mall.

6 thoughts on “Saturday Random Photos

  1. Learning more is always good but it strikes me that you know a lot about photography already. I wouldn’t describe myself as either a keen or a good photographer, but even so I think that becoming acquainted with your camera and understanding its limitations too is enormously helpful.

    Have a happy Sunday, Boonsong

    • Thanks Boonsong, I’m a self-taught photographer and always feel like I’m missing that basic knowledge and understanding. I think hanging out at photographers and photo blogs helps tremendously, plus I like looking at photos. I’m not happy with my skills and would like to improve if possible.

  2. Nye – Since I got back from Laos, I’ve been practicing taking all the photo with manual mode. I’m getting better at it but still doesn’t have it down to the science yet. Few of my co-workers are into photography and been coaching me through the process. I have to download some of pictures and post it on my blog.

    • seeharhed, you’re lucky that you have your co-workers to ask, as for me I really don’t have anyone except for posting it here at my blog. I have to say that feedback here is kind of slow to almost none, made me think that my photographs must be very average. But I hope to be better by the end of the year, I would love to see your photos.

  3. I always enjoy looking at your photos. It’s good that you are taking on a challenge and learning something new, it makes life more interesting. :)

    I also like being able to see your part of the state. NC looks like a great place to live.

    • Cambree, thanks for your kind comment. I hope that one day photography will become second nature to me, it’s nice to be able to capture life precious moment the way you see it. My part of the state is not as exciting as the big city, but plenty of gardens and other country living here. :)

Leave a Reply

