Pickled Crab Apples

My dad had plenty of crab apples last year, so I decided to pickle some.

This was my first time pickling crab apples, and it is very simple to make.  First I boil hot water, add salt and let it sit to cool.  Then wash the crab apples, also let them sit to dry. I use an old empty pickle jar, wash well, fill with crab apples, then add salt water and seal tight.  I sat the jar in my pantry, and several months later I have pickled crab apples.

It is considered a negative calorie food snack, and I like to eat it with hot sauce.

Hot sauce ingredients: ground Chili peppers, ground roasted rice, sugar, and salt.

15 thoughts on “Pickled Crab Apples

  1. Hi Nye,

    I haven’t had crab apples for some time now. And these look very good!

    I’m surprise to know you didn’t add vinegar in these at all. The recipe is so simple. Thanks!

    • Hi Cambree, we’re very fortunate to have some. The one at my dad was actually ours that we planted when we used to live there, it’s kind of nice that we sold our old house to my dad, we could harvest our old fruit trees. The ingredients doesn’t call for vinegar, this is exactly the same as when I pickle cabbage (vegetable) except adding cooked rice to the cabbage to make it pickle faster.

  2. That looks yummy.

    In Laos, my older sister and I used to eat pickled “apples” the kind that their skins turn beautiful brown color.

    • Hi Kim, I don’t think I’ve eaten those kind of apples before. When you mentioned Laos, the first thing that came to mind is the cutup green mango that they sell at the bus stop, made my mouth water just thinking about it.

  3. I have never heard of a recipe like this and I’m so intrigued! We have FOUR crab apple trees producing like crazy and It’s driving me nuts that it’s all going to waste because I don’t know what to do with them. This looks so simple! How much salt do you put in the water? Do you “process” the jar to seal it or just screw on a good tight lid and let it sit?

    • Hi Elizabeth, I boiled a big pot of water and add about 1/2 cup of salt. I screw on the lid tight and let it sit. I have several jars that’s over 1 year old and the crab-apples tasted a bit like wine, I guess it must have fermented.

  4. Pingback: Hippies in the Kitchen (with recipes) and Two Liebsters! | Lazy Hippie Mama

Leave a Reply

